The BFI is a registered charity, established by Royal Charter and governed by a Board of 13 Governors.

Josh Berger, CBE (Chair)

Josh Berger became Chair of the BFI in February 2016.  Josh is President and Managing Director, Warner Bros. Entertainment UK, Ireland and Spain.

Pat Butler

Pat Butler is a partner at the Resolution Group and an expert in corporate and business strategy, operations and performance improvement.

Charles Cecil, MBE

Charles Cecil is a video game designer and co-founder of Revolution Software. In 2011 he was awarded an MBE for services to the computer games industry.

Alison Cornwell

Alison is Group Chief Financial Officer of Vue Entertainment International. She has extensive film, television and broadcasting experience gained with major USA studios and with independent companies. She qualified as a chartered accountant in 1990 and spent 5 years in corporate finance before joining Disney’s International TV business. At Disney, Alison was involved in the launch and management of 40 TV channels across Europe, Asia and Latin America and oversaw significant growth in Disney’s TV licensing business and in its portfolio of investments in third party broadcasters. She was a non-executive director of GMTV, in which Disney had a shareholding, from 2002 to 2005. In 2005 Alison left Disney to become CFO of private equity backed Sparrowhawk Media which acquired the international assets of Crown Media Holdings. In 2008 Alison was appointed CFO of the international film distribution company, Alliance Films. Following various successes including the acquisition of Maple Pictures from Lionsgate and the financing of movies such as Insidious and The Woman In Black, Alliance’s owners decided to sell the business. Alison led the exit process which concluded in a successful sale.

Pete Czernin

Pete Czernin lived and worked in Los Angeles for nearly 10 years for a number of production companies and studios. He featured as “a talent to watch” in The Hollywood Reporter’s “Next Generation Executives” issue of 1999. In 2005 he partnered with Graham Broadbent and set up Blueprint Pictures, a London-based feature film production company which has produced seven feature films including: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (directed by John Madden); Seven Psychopaths (written and directed by Martin McDonagh); and the award-nominated In Bruges (also written and directed by Martin McDonagh). Pete is currently prepping to release Posh (directed by Lone Scherfig) and is in production with The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel 2 (directed John Madden).

Gerry Fox, Governor (Member)

Gerry Fox is an award-winning arts documentary filmmaker whose work spans the big and small screen, including documentaries on the artist Marc Quinn, the photographer and filmmaker Robert Frank, and more recently the influential video artist Bill Viola. Throughout the 1990s he worked extensively for ITV’s The South Bank Show where he specialised in programmes about film directors and visual artists, including Gilbert and George. He also wrote, produced and directed a TV mini-series based on Terry Pratchett’s fantasy novel Johnny and the Dead. Gerry has been a member of the BFI for 30 years and was closely involved in the creation of the BFI Reuben Library in 2012.

Tom Hooper

Tom Hooper is an Oscar-winning film director. His features include Les Misérables, The King’s Speech and The Damned United.

Matthew Justice

Matthew Justice is currently Managing Director of Big Talk, the multi award-winning film and television production company.

Oona King

Oona King, Baroness King of Bow, is a member of the House of Lords. She is a writer, broadcaster and political campaigner and a Diversity Executive at Channel 4.

J. Timothy Richards

J. Timothy Richards is the CEO of Vue Entertainment, which boasts over 66 million annual admissions from 1319 screens in 145 state-of-the-art cinemas worldwide.

Jonathan Ross

Jonathan Ross OBE is a mainstay of British television and radio, rarely off the airwaves either as a presenter or as a host of his own distinctive style of celebrity guest interviews. He presented over two hundred episodes of the BBC’s iconic chat show Friday Night with Jonathan Ross, which won five BAFTA Awards. In 1999 Jonathan cemented his reputation as a passionate lover of cinema when he became Barry Norman’s successor to the BBC One flagship film show, a position he held until 2010. In 2011 Jonathan joined ITV to present The Jonathan Ross Show which is currently on air today. Other career highlights include hosting the BAFTAs, Comic Relief (BBC1), Channel 4′s Comedy Gala in aid of Great Ormond Street Hospital, and The Royal Variety Performance (BBC1).

Lisbeth Savill (Deputy Chair)

Lisbeth Savill is a partner in the law firm Latham and Watkin’s London office in the firm’s Entertainment, Sports and Media Practice. She has been recognised as a leading lawyer in the film and television industries for many years. She serves as the only lawyer on the Film Policy Review chaired by Lord Chris Smith, which the UK government commissioned to make recommendations for the future of the film industry, and was an invited member of Her Majesty’s Revenue and Customs experts panel on the design and implementation of the film tax relief. She has been involved in many legal aspects of the business of film and television including the financing of a string of hit movies such as The King’s Speech and was the winner of the Women in Film and Television Business Award (December 2010) for her contribution to the industry.

Andrea Wong

Andrea Wong is President of International Production for Sony Pictures Television (SPT) and President of International for Sony Pictures Entertainment (SPE). Based in London she is responsible for the studio’s international television production business, overseeing the creative teams outside the US as well as the eighteen owned and joint venture international production companies around the world. She also acts as the company’s commercial and governmental representative related to production abroad. Previously, she served as President and CEO of Lifetime Networks, and as Executive Vice President, alternative programming, specials and late night at ABC.

Read more

Back to the top