The Times BFI London Film Festival Vodcast Day 15

Day 15 was significant in Festival History, as it marked the first ever stand alone Awards Ceremony. Nominees for the Sutherland Award, Grierson Award, Best British Newcomer Award, and the first ever Best Film Award thronged at Inner Temple in London in the presence of the jurors, who included Nick Broomfield, Jarvis Cocker, Charlotte Rampling and Anjelica Huston. That evening, British national treasure John Hurt and Malian director Souleymane Cissé were also awarded the BFI's highest honour, the Fellowship.

The winners were:

Best Film: A Prophet - Dir. Jacques Audiard
Best British Newcomer: Jack Thorne - Writer, The Scouting Book for Boys
Sutherland Award: Ajami - Dir. Scandar Copti, Yaron Shani
Grierson Award: Defamation - Dir. Yoav Shamir


Elsewhere on BFI Live



  • Do the Right Thing
  • L'Atalante
  • Psycho
  • Separation