British Independent Film Awards nominations 2013

The nominations are in for this year’s British Independent Film Awards, with Starred Up receiving eight nods and The Selfish Giant on seven.

Samuel Wigley

Starred Up (2013)

Starred Up (2013)

Prison drama Starred Up leads the pack in the run up to the 16th annual Möet British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs). Announced today by Ewan McGregor, a BIFA patron and previous winner, the nominations include eight nods for David Mackenzie’s film, including Best British Independent Film, Best Director, Best Screenplay for Jonathan Asser, and Best Actor for Jack O’Connell.

Clio Barnard’s realist fable The Selfish Giant follows with seven nominations, including Best British Independent Film and Best Director, while its two young stars Conner Chapman and Shaun Thomas share a nomination for Best Newcomer. Filth, Metro Manila and Le Week-end all collected five nominations apiece.

This year’s award for Best British Short is supported by BFI NET.WORK. Ben Roberts, Director of the BFI Film Fund, comments:

Where other awards sometimes fear to tread, the MBIFAs puts the wild creativity of British independent filmmaking front and centre. This year we have witnessed a renewed confidence in bold UK filmmaking which has been recognised around the world and will inspire a new generation of talent. The BFI NET.WORK has been established to support extraordinary new voices who need a platform like the BIFAs to showcase their talent to the industry, and that’s why we are so pleased to support the Best British Short award this year.

For the eighth year running, the awards ceremony will be hosted by James Nesbitt, and will be held at Old Billingsgate, London, on Sunday 8 December.

The nominations in full

Best British Independent Film
Sponsored by Moët & Chandon     

Metro Manila
The Selfish Giant
Starred Up  
Le Week-end
Best Director
Sponsored by AllCity & Intermission

Jon S Baird – Filth
Clio Barnard – The Selfish Giant
Sean Ellis – Metro Manila
Jonathan Glazer – Under the Skin
David Mackenzie – Starred Up
The Douglas Hickox Award (Best Debut Director)
Sponsored by 3 Mills Studios 

Charlie Cattrall – Titus
Tina Gharavi – I Am Nasrine
Jeremy Lovering – In Fear
Omid Nooshin – Last Passenger
Paul Wright – For Those in Peril
Best Screenplay
Jonathan Asser – Starred Up
Clio Barnard – The Selfish Giant
Steven Knight – Locke
Hanif Kureishi – Le Week-end
Jeff Pope, Steve Coogan – Philomena
Best Actress
Sponsored by M.A.C Cosmetics
Judi Dench – Philomena
Lindsay Duncan – Le Week-end
Scarlett Johansson – Under the Skin
Felicity Jones – The Invisible Woman
Saoirse Ronan – How I Live Now
Best Actor
Sponsored by BBC Films
Jim Broadbent – Le Week-end
Steve Coogan – Philomena
Tom Hardy – Locke
Jack O’Connell – Starred Up
James McAvoy – Filth     

Best Supporting Actress
Siobhan Finneran – The Selfish Giant
Shirley Henderson – Filth
Imogen Poots – The Look of Love
Kristin Scott Thomas – The Invisible Woman
Mia Wasikowska – The Double
Best Supporting Actor
Sponsored by Sanderson & St Martins Lane
John Arcilla – Metro Manila
Rupert Friend – Starred Up
Jeff Goldblum – Le Week-end
Eddie Marsan – Filth
Ben Mendelsohn – Starred Up
Most Promising Newcomer
Sponsored by Studiocanal
Harley Bird – How I Live Now
Conner Chapman / Shaun Thomas – The Selfish Giant
Caity Lotz – The Machine
Jake Macapagal – Metro Manila
Chloe Pirrie – Shell
Best Achievement in Production
Sponsored by Company3
A Field in England
Metro Manila
The Selfish Giant
Starred Up
Best Technical Achievement
Sponsored by LightBrigade Media
Shaheen Baig – Casting – Starred Up
Johnnie Burn – Sound Design – Under the Skin
Amy Hubbard – Casting – The Selfish Giant
Mica Levi – Music – Under the Skin
Justine Wright – Editing – Locke
Best Documentary
Pussy Riot — A Punk Prayer
The Great Hip Hop Hoax
The Moo Man
The Spirit of ‘45
The Stone Roses: Made of Stone
Best British Short
Supported by BFI NET.WORK
Dr Easy
Dylan’s Room
Best International Independent Film
Blue Is the Warmest Colour
Blue Jasmine
Frances Ha
The Great Beauty
The Raindance Award
Sponsored by Wentworth Media and Arts
Everyone’s Going to Die
The Machine
The Patrol
Sleeping Dogs
The Richard Harris Award (for outstanding contribution by an actor to British film)

To be announced
The Variety Award
To be announced
The Special Jury Prize
Announced at the Moët British Independent Film Awards on Sunday 8 December

Back to the top

See something different

Subscribe now for exclusive offers and the best of cinema.