Oscars 2016: the winners in full

Spotlight is the surprise best picture winner, while Brie Larson and Leonardo DiCaprio take the acting prizes.


Spotlight (2015)

Spotlight (2015)

Leonardo DiCaprio has finally won the Oscar for best actor for his performance in survival drama The Revenant, after missing out on four previous occasions. Alejandro G. Inarritu’s film also took this year’s awards for best director and best cinematography. In a surprise victory, however, it was beaten to best picture by Spotlight, Thomas McCarthy’s film about Boston newspapermen uncovering a child abuse scandal within the Catholic church. The film also won for its original screenplay.

Brie Larson was named best actress for Room, while the supporting acting categories went to British actor Mark Rylance for Bridge of Spies and Alicia Vikander for The Danish Girl.

Hackney-born director Asif Kapadia’s Amy was named best documentary, with best animated feature going to Pixar’s Inside Out and best foreign film to Holocaust drama Son of Saul.

The night’s most awarded film was Mad Max: Fury Road, which won in six technical categories including best costume design for Brit Jenny Beavan.

Winners Room and Son of Saul both first screened to UK audiences at the BFI London Film Festival.

Best picture

Winner: Spotlight — Michael Sugar, Steve Golin, Nicole Rocklin and Blye Pagon Faust, Producers

The Big Short — Brad Pitt, Dede Gardner and Jeremy Kleiner, Producers
Bridge of Spies — Steven Spielberg, Marc Platt and Kristie Macosko Krieger, Producers
Brooklyn — Finola Dwyer and Amanda Posey, Producers
Mad Max: Fury Road — Doug Mitchell and George Miller, Producers
The Martian — Simon Kinberg, Ridley Scott, Michael Schaefer and Mark Huffam, Producers
The Revenant — Arnon Milchan, Steve Golin, Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Mary Parent and Keith Redmon, Producers
Room — Ed Guiney, Producer

Best actress

Winner: Brie Larson in Room

Cate Blanchett in Carol
Jennifer Lawrence in Joy
Charlotte Rampling in 45 Years
Saoirse Ronan in Brooklyn

Best supporting actress

Winner: Alicia Vikander in The Danish Girl

Jennifer Jason Leigh in The Hateful Eight
Rooney Mara in Carol
Rachel McAdams in Spotlight
Kate Winslet in Steve Jobs

Best actor

Winner: Leonardo DiCaprio in The Revenant

Bryan Cranston in Trumbo
Matt Damon in The Martian
Michael Fassbender in Steve Jobs
Eddie Redmayne in The Danish Girl

Best supporting actor

Winner: Mark Rylance in Bridge of Spies

Christian Bale in The Big Short
Tom Hardy in The Revenant
Mark Ruffalo in Spotlight
Sylvester Stallone in Creed


Winner: The Revenant - Alejandro G. Iñárritu

The Big Short - Adam McKay
Mad Max: Fury Road - George Miller
Room - Lenny Abrahamson
Spotlight - Tom McCarthy

Adapted screenplay

Winner: The Big Short — Charles Randolph and Adam McKay

Brooklyn — Nick Hornby
Carol — Phyllis Nagy
The Martian — Drew Goddard
Room — Emma Donoghue

Original screenplay

Winner: Spotlight — Josh Singer & Tom McCarthy

Bridge of Spies — Matt Charman and Ethan Coen & Joel Coen
Ex Machina — Alex Garland
Inside Out — Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley; Original story by Pete Docter, Ronnie del Carmen
Straight Outta Compton — Jonathan Herman and Andrea Berloff; Story by S. Leigh Savidge & Alan Wenkus and Andrea Berloff


Winner: The Revenant - Emmanuel Lubezki

Carol - Ed Lachman
The Hateful Eight - Robert Richardson
Mad Max: Fury Road - John Seale
Sicario - Roger Deakins

Costume design

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road - Jenny Beavan

Carol - Sandy Powell
Cinderella - Sandy Powell
The Danish Girl — Paco Delgado
The Revenant - Jacqueline West

Best animated feature

Winner: Inside Out - Pete Docter and Jonas Rivera

Anomalisa - Charlie Kaufman, Duke Johnson and Rosa Tran
Boy and the World - Alê Abreu
Shaun the Sheep Movie - Mark Burton and Richard Starzak
When Marnie Was There - Hiromasa Yonebayashi and Yoshiaki Nishimura

Best documentary feature

Winner: Amy - Asif Kapadia and James Gay-Rees

Cartel Land - Matthew Heineman and Tom Yellin
The Look of Silence - Joshua Oppenheimer and Signe Byrge Sørensen
What Happened, Miss Simone? - Liz Garbus, Amy Hobby and Justin Wilkes
Winter on Fire: Ukraine’s Fight for Freedom - Evgeny Afineevsky and Den Tolmor

Best documentary short

Winner: A Girl in the River: The Price of Forgiveness - Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy

Body Team 12 - David Darg and Bryn Mooser
Chau, beyond the Lines - Courtney Marsh and Jerry Franck
Claude Lanzmann: Spectres of the Shoah - Adam Benzine
Last Day of Freedom - Dee Hibbert-Jones and Nomi Talisman


Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road - Margaret Sixel

The Big Short - Hank Corwin
The Revenant - Stephen Mirrione
Spotlight - Tom McArdle
Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Maryann Brandon and Mary Jo Markey

Foreign language film

Winner: Son of Saul (Hungary)

Embrace of the Serpent (Colombia)
Mustang (France)
Theeb (Jordan)
A War (Denmark)

Production design

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road - Production Design: Colin Gibson; Set Decoration: Lisa Thompson

Bridge of Spies - Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Rena DeAngelo and Bernhard Henrich
The Danish Girl - Production Design: Eve Stewart; Set Decoration: Michael Standish
The Martian - Production Design: Arthur Max; Set Decoration: Celia Bobak
The Revenant - Production Design: Jack Fisk; Set Decoration: Hamish Purdy


Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road - Lesley Vanderwalt, Elka Wardega and Damian Martin

The 100-Year-Old Man Who Climbed out the Window and Disappeared - Love Larson and Eva von Bahr
The Revenant - Siân Grigg, Duncan Jarman and Robert Pandini

Original score

Winner: The Hateful Eight - Ennio Morricone

Bridge of Spies - Thomas Newman
Carol - Carter Burwell
Sicario - Jóhann Jóhannsson
Star Wars: The Force Awakens - John Williams

Original song

Winner: Writing’s On The Wall from Spectre (Music and Lyric by Jimmy Napes and Sam Smith)

Earned It from Fifty Shades of Grey (Music and Lyric by Abel Tesfaye, Ahmad Balshe, Jason Daheala Quenneville and Stephan Moccio)
Manta Ray from Racing Extinction (Music by J. Ralph and Lyric by Antony Hegarty)
Simple Song #3 from Youth (Music and Lyric by David Lang)
Til It Happens To You from The Hunting Ground (Music and Lyric by Diane Warren and Lady Gaga)

Sound editing

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road - Mark Mangini and David White

The Martian - Oliver Tarney
The Revenant - Martin Hernandez and Lon Bender
Sicario - Alan Robert Murray
Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Matthew Wood and David Acord

Sound mixing

Winner: Mad Max: Fury Road - Chris Jenkins, Gregg Rudloff and Ben Osmo

Bridge of Spies - Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom and Drew Kunin
The Martian - Paul Massey, Mark Taylor and Mac Ruth
The Revenant - Jon Taylor, Frank A. Montaño, Randy Thom and Chris Duesterdiek
Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Andy Nelson, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson

Visual effects

Winner: Ex Machina - Andrew Whitehurst, Paul Norris, Mark Ardington and Sara Bennett

Mad Max: Fury Road A- ndrew Jackson, Tom Wood, Dan Oliver and Andy Williams
The Martian - Richard Stammers, Anders Langlands, Chris Lawrence and Steven Warner
The Revenant - Rich McBride, Matthew Shumway, Jason Smith and Cameron Waldbauer
Star Wars: The Force Awakens - Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Neal Scanlan and Chris Corbould

Animated short film

Winner: Bear Story - Gabriel Osorio and Pato Escala

Prologue - Richard Williams and Imogen Sutton
Sanjay’s Super Team - Sanjay Patel and Nicole Grindle
We Can’t Live without Cosmos - Konstantin Bronzit
World of Tomorrow - Don Hertzfeldt

Live action short film

Winner: Stutterer - Benjamin Cleary and Serena Armitage

Ave Maria - Basil Khalil and Eric Dupont
Day One - Henry Hughes
Everything Will Be Okay (Alles Wird Gut) - Patrick Vollrath
Shok - Jamie Donoughue

Read more

Back to the top

See something different

Subscribe now for exclusive offers and the best of cinema.