Charlie Chaplin: Mutual Films Volume 2

Six more of the films Chaplin made with the Mutual Film Corporation: The Floorwalker, The Fireman, The Vagabond, One AM, The Count and The Pawnshop.

This DVD contains six of the Mutual Films, all made in 1916; The Floorwalker, The Fireman, The Vagabond, One A.M., The Count and The Pawnshop.

In One A.M. Chaplin reprises his classic ‘stage drunk’ in a solo performance, while The Floorwalker shows his inventive and balletic use of mechanical props. In The Vagabond, his first minor masterpiece, he successfully combines pathos and comedy to create a lyrical love story. The Pawnshop is famous for the hilarious routine in which he dissects an alarm clock.

These films have all been restored and mastered from the best available materials and this edition of the Mutual Films features brand new scores, written and recorded by acclaimed silent film composer Carl Davis.

List of titles:

  • The Floorwalker
  • The Fireman
  • The Vagabond
  • One A.M.
  • The Count
  • The Pawnshop

The DVD contains an insert with an essay on Chaplin at the Mutual Studios by Frank Scheide and full film credits. Sleeve notes are by writer and broadcaster Glenn Mitchell, a senior advisor and contributor to the journal The Chaplin Review, whose books include The Chaplin Encyclopedia (Batsford, 1997).

Special features

  • Filmed introduction.

Product information

    • Certificate


    • Colour

      Black/white and tinted

    • Sound

      Silent with music

    • Running time


    • Original aspect ratio


    • DVD region

      • 2 Europe (except Russia, Ukraine, and Belarus), Middle East, Egypt, Japan, South Africa, Swaziland, Lesotho, Greenland, French Overseas departments and territories

    • Blu-ray region

      • B - Includes most European and Middle-Eastern countries, all of Africa, Australia and New Zealand

    • Catalogue number


Back to the top

See something different

Subscribe now for exclusive offers and the best of cinema.