On 21 February we revealed our prize winners at the 14th BFI Future Film Festival Awards Ceremony. 

For the first time ever, the BFI Future Film Festival awards, supported by Netflix, will took place online. The awards recognise, celebrate and reward some of the talented young filmmakers whose films have screened as part of the festival. Filmmakers aged between 16 and 25 were nominated across 10 categories, including Best Writer, Best Film, Best Director and many more. The winners were announced by guest presenters and jury members. Recipients of the awards received prizes including cash, equipment and mentoring support, generously offered by this year’s festival partners. 

Join us to celebrate all the talented filmmakers who have contributed to this year’s BFI Future Film Festival!

The host of the 14th BFI Future Film Festival Awards Ceremony is writer and poet Yomi Sode.

Yomi Sode is a Nigerian British writer, performer, and facilitator. He is a recipient of the Jerwood Compton Poetry fellowship 2019. He has read his poems internationally at various festivals, as well as performed his debut solo show (Coat) to sold-out audiences. Yomi has been published in Rialto Magazine, The Poetry Review, Bare lit and 10: Poets of the New Generation, Bare Lit Anthology as well an essay contribution in Safe: On Black British Men Reclaiming Space. Yomi is a contributor for Happy Here a new anthology published by Knights Of in partnership with Book Trust and CLPE and is currently working on his first poetry collection and his second show.

Netflix logo