The recipient of the award will receive £50,000 from BFI London Film Festival’s official time partner IWC Schaffhausen, at a dinner in honour of the BFI on 6 October, the evening before the LFF’s Opening Night this year.

British-based first or second time directors or writers of fiction feature films which are otherwise eligible and which are entered through open submissions or entered by a sales or distribution partner will have the opportunity to formally submit an application for the IWC Schaffhausen Filmmaker Bursary Award after the film is invited to the festival.

Previous winners include Hope Dickson Leach (The Levelling), Daniel Kokotajlo (Apostasy), Richard Billingham (Ray and Liz) and Rose Glass (Saint Maud), all of whom have gone on to enjoy further award nominations and significant recognition for their work.

Submissions are now closed.