For BFI Film Academy SCENE we interview a young filmmaker live most Thursdays at 4pm on our BFI Film Academy Instagram channel. SCENE provides an opportunity for young filmmakers to promote their films and gives you a chance to watch some amazing new shorts, ask questions and learn from your filmmaking peers. The Monday before, we share a link to the film to be discussed in that week’s Q&A across the BFI Film Academy social channels. You can send us your questions for the filmmaker in advance, or submit them live during the event.

The upcoming season of SCENE runs from Thursday 3 March to Thursday 19 May, and will showcase the winners of the BFI Future Film Festival Awards, along with two special SCENE interviews for BFI Flare: LGBTQIA+ Film Festival.

  • Thursday 24 March, 2022 – SCENE at BFI Flare with Cailleah Scott-Grimes (director, Between Us)
  • Thursday 31 March, 2022 – SCENE with Best Experimental Film winner, Bradley Banton (director, Blackmael)
  • Thursday 7 April, 2022 – SCENE with Best Micro Short Film winner Christina Giordano (director, Stolen)
  • Thursday 14 April, 2022 – SCENE with International Special Mention winner Spencer Glassman (director, This Time with Feeling)
  • Thursday 21 April, 2022 – SCENE with Best International Film winner Evan Kerbage (director, Mirrored Family)
  • Thursday 28 April, 2022 – SCENE with Best Writer winner Katie Byford (director-writer, You Look Fine)
  • Thursday 05 May, 2022 – SCENE with Best Director winner Will Wightman (director, Heart Failure)
  • Thursday 12 May, 2022 – SCENE with Best Film winner Florence Winter Hill (director, The Gospel According to Gail)
  • Thursday 19 May, 2022 – SCENE with Best New Talent winner Adekemi Roluga (director, Exhale)

You can watch all past SCENE events on our IGTV channel.