These courses help train and inspire the next generation of UK filmmakers, supporting young people aged 16 to 19 to develop the commercial and cultural knowledge and skills to help make a career in film. No experience is necessary.

Courses are delivered across the UK. See the table below for details of areas, how and when to apply and when each course is running.

BFI Film Academy UK Short courses by location
Location Organisation / application link Enquiries Application dates (opens / closes) Course dates (course start / finish)
Aberdeen Station House Media Unit bfi@shmu.org.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Argyll and Bute Screen Argyll screenargyll@gmail.com Opens summer 2021 TBC
Barrow-in-Furness Signals Film and Media kezz@signalfilmandmedia.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Belfast, Derry & Amargh The Nerve Centre e.king@nervecentre.org Opens summer 2021 TBC
Belfast Cinemagic nathan@cinemagic.org.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Birmingham The Company janette@thecompanyltd.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Bournemouth White Lantern info@getinsidemovies.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Bradford Reel Solutions zoe@reelsolutions.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Bristol Bristol Old Vic bex.rose@oldvic.ac.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Bristol Watershed bex.r@watershed.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Cambridge 104 projects CIC justin@104films.com Opens summer 2021 TBC
Cardiff & Swansea Bulldozer Films bulldozerfilms@hotmail.com Opens summer 2021 TBC
Chester Reel Solutions zoe@reelsolutions.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Colchester Signals Essex rachel@signals.org.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Colwyn Bay, Wales TAPE bfiacademy@tapemusicandfilm.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Crook, County Durham Jack Drum Arts info@jackdrum.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Derby Derby Quad filmacademy@derbyquad.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Edinburgh Screen Education Edinburgh admin@screen-ed.org Opens summer 2021 TBC
Hereford Rural Media Productions info@ruralmedia.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Hull CTVC bfifilmacademy@ctvc.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Ipswich and Norwich Creative Nation hello@creative-nation.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Kent Screen South info@screensouth.org Opens summer 2021 TBC
Lincoln Paradigm Arts rob@paradigmarts.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
London British Film Institute futurefilm.academy@bfi.org.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
London CTVC bfifilmacademy@ctvc.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
London, Barking Young Film Academy courses@youngfilmacademy.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
London, Fulham London Film Academy admissions@londonfilmacademy.com Opens summer 2021 TBC
London, Islington The Film and Video Workshop booking@filmworkshop.com Opens summer 2021 TBC
London, Shoreditch Eastside Educational Trust applications@eastside.org.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
London, Tower Hamlets Mouth that Roars mouththatroars@btconnect.com Opens summer 2021 TBC
Leeds Leeds Young Film martin.grund@leeds.gov.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Manchester HOME youngcreatives@homemcr.org Opens summer 2021 TBC
Newcastle upon Tyne Beacon  Films michelle@beaconfilms.org.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Nottingham Broadway filmacademy@broadway.org.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Oxford Film Oxford production@filmoxford.org Opens summer 2021 TBC
Pinewood and Shepperton Resource Productions info@resource-productions.co.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Sheffield Showroom Workstation sam.barnett@srws.org.uk Opens summer 2021 TBC
Wem, Shropshire MediaActive info@mediaactive.org Opens summer 2021 TBC
Yeovil Somerset Film and Video natalie@somersetfilm.com Opens summer 2021 TBC

In 2020 to 2021 the BFI Film Academy will deliver in line with government guidelines on social distancing. Your course provider will provide you with specific guidance, which may mean that some delivery is face to face and some online. Please contact your chosen course directly if you wish to discuss any support or equipment needs.

BFI Film Academy courses are supported by the Department for Education in England, the National Lottery, Screen Scotland and Northern Ireland Screen.

Eligibility for short courses

In order to apply you must:

  • be aged 16 to 19-years-old on the first day of the course
  • be a UK resident
  • have a passion or talent for filmmaking and an ambition to work in the film industry
  • be able to commit to the duration of the course
  • not currently be at university or enrolled at university when the course starts
  • not have previously enrolled on a BFI Film Academy course

As each course is likely to have more people apply than available places, any evidence you have of your passion or talent will help your application. Every course is open to young people from anywhere in the UK and from any background. No academic education or degree is necessary.

Course accessibility

The BFI Film Academy encourages young people from all backgrounds and abilities to apply. Please email filmacademy@bfi.org.uk or your local provider to discuss any learning support or access requirements that you may have.

Costs

Short courses cost £25, but if you are unable to pay the fee don’t let this discourage you from applying. Contact the course provider, as costs may be waived. Bursaries for travel and childcare are also available if you require assistance with these costs.

How to apply

Each course has its own application process and you will need to apply directly to the organisation running it. Please visit the relevant organisation links in the table for further information.

The starting date for each course varies and there are different deadlines for applications. Please ensure that you can make all the dates for your chosen course before applying.

Related qualifications

If you enrol on a UK Short course you will be completing one of the following qualifications:

The Preparing to Work in the Film Industry qualification helps to develop young people’s interest, passion and skills to help in their potential careers across the film industry. This qualification has been driven by the needs of industry and education partners.

The Arts Award is a framework developed by Arts Council England to help young people learn new skills and share them. The BFI Film Academy is using Explore (specifically for participants with disabilities), Bronze and Silver. Employers, universities and colleges know that Arts Award is a qualification that shows young people’s level of commitment and progress in the arts, and in developing new skills.

Contact us

If you have any questions, please email filmacademy@bfi.org.uk.

See what it’s like on the VR Film Academy at Storyhouse in Chester: