These courses help train and inspire the next generation of UK filmmakers, supporting young people aged 16 to 19 to develop the commercial and cultural knowledge and skills to help make a career in film. No experience is necessary.

Courses are delivered across the UK. See the table below for details of areas, how and when to apply and when each course is running.

BFI Film Academy UK Short courses by location
Location Organisation / application link Enquiries Application dates (opens / closes) Course dates (course start / finish)
Aberdeen Station House Media Unit bfi@shmu.org.uk 4 Aug 2020 to 21 Aug 2020 7 Sep 2020 to 6 Feb 2021
Argyll and Bute Screen Argyll screenargyll@gmail.com 18 Aug 2020 to 30 Sep 2020 3 Oct 2020 to 18 Dec 2020
Barrow-in-Furness Signals Film and Media kezz@signalfilmandmedia.co.uk 17 Aug 2020 to 23 Sep 2020 17 Oct 2020 to 19 Jan 2021
Belfast, Derry & Amargh The Nerve Centre e.king@nervecentre.org 4 Aug 2020 to 30 Sep 2020 21 Sep 2020 to 8 Feb 2021
Belfast Cinemagic nathan@cinemagic.org.uk 16 Sep 2020 to 21 Sep 2020 29 Sep 2020 to 5 Dec 2020
Birmingham The Company janette@thecompanyltd.co.uk 4 Aug to 1 Oct 2020 18 Oct 2020 to 21 Nov 2020
Bournemouth White Lantern info@getinsidemovies.co.uk 1 Sep 2020 to 30 Nov 2020 6 Dec 2020 to 28 Feb 2021
Bradford Reel Solutions zoe@reelsolutions.co.uk 1 Nov 2020 to 18 Jan 2021 6 Feb 2021 to 27 Feb 2021
Bristol Bristol Old Vic bex.rose@oldvic.ac.uk 1 Sep 2020 to 2 Nov 2020 28 Nov 2020 to 18 Mar 2021
Bristol Watershed bex.r@watershed.co.uk 1 Sep 2020 to 1 Oct 2020 27 Nov 2020 to 17 Mar 2021
Cambridge 104 projects CIC justin@104films.com 1 Oct 2020 to 18 Dec 2020 9 Jan 2021 to 30 Jan 2021
Cardiff & Swansea Bulldozer Films bulldozerfilms@hotmail.com 4 Aug 2020 to 1 Oct 2020 26 Oct 2020 to 13 Nov 2020
Chester Reel Solutions zoe@reelsolutions.co.uk 1 Sep 2020 to 30 Sep 2020 17 Oct 2020 to 28 Nov 2020
Colchester Signals Essex rachel@signals.org.uk 4 Aug 2020 to 12 Oct 2020 24 Oct 2020 to 12 Dec 2020
Colwyn Bay, Wales TAPE bfiacademy@tapemusicandfilm.co.uk 25 Sep 2020 to 11 Dec 2020 6 Feb 2021 to 28 Feb 2020
Crook, County Durham Jack Drum Arts info@jackdrum.co.uk 4 Aug 2020 to 9 Oct 2020 26 Oct 2020 to 5 Dec 2020
Edinburgh Screen Education Edinburgh admin@screen-ed.org 4 Aug 2020 to 7 Sep 2020 19 Sep 2020 to 19 Dec 2020
Hereford Rural Media Productions info@ruralmedia.co.uk 4 Aug 2020 to 19 Oct 2020 21 Oct 2020 to 26 Feb 2021
Hull CTVC bfifilmacademy@ctvc.co.uk 17 Aug 2020 to 30 Sep 2020 10 Oct 2020 to 5 Dec 2020
Ipswich and Norwich Creative Nation hello@creative-nation.co.uk 17 Aug 2020 to 12 Oct 2020 13 Feb 2021 to 19 Feb 2021
Kent Screen South info@screensouth.org 7 Sep 2020 to 13 Nov 2020 12 Dec 2020 to 27 Feb 2021
Lincoln Paradigm Arts rob@paradigmarts.co.uk 4 Aug 2020 to 17 Oct 2020 31 Oct 2020 to 20 Feb 2021
London British Film Institute futurefilm.academy@bfi.org.uk 4 Aug 2020 to 6 Sep 2020 23 Sep 2020 to 5 Dec 2020
London CTVC bfifilmacademy@ctvc.co.uk 17 Aug 2020 to 30 Sep 2020 10 Oct 2020 to 5 Dec 2020
London, Barking Young Film Academy courses@youngfilmacademy.co.uk 4 Aug 2020 to 10 Oct 2020 27 Oct 2020 to 6 Dec 2020
London, Fulham London Film Academy admissions@londonfilmacademy.com 10 Aug 2020 to 30 Sep 2020 3 Oct 2020 to 17 Jan 2021
London, Islington The Film and Video Workshop booking@filmworkshop.com 4 Aug 2020 to 1 Oct 2020 10 Oct 2020 to 30 Oct 2020
London, Shoreditch Eastside Educational Trust applications@eastside.org.uk 4 Aug 2020 to 21 Sep 2020 17 Oct 2020 to 13 Feb 2021
London, Tower Hamlets Mouth that Roars mouththatroars@btconnect.com 9 Sep 2020 to 9 Nov 2020 7 Feb 2020 to 13 Feb 2021
Leeds Leeds Young Film martin.grund@leeds.gov.uk 9 Oct 2020 to Mon 4 Jan 2021 9 Jan to 27 Feb 2021
Manchester HOME youngcreatives@homemcr.org 1 Sep 2020 to 28 Sep 2020 7 Oct 2020 to 2 Dec 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne Beacon  Films michelle@beaconfilms.org.uk 1 Sep 2020 to 6 Dec 2020 17 Jan 2021 to 18 Feb 2021
Nottingham Broadway filmacademy@broadway.org.uk 16 Aug 2020 to 23 Oct 2020 19 Nov 2020 to 20 Feb 2021
Oxford Film Oxford production@filmoxford.org 4 Aug 2020 to 1 Oct 2020 7 Oct 2020 to 8 Nov 2020
Pinewood and Shepperton Resource Productions info@resource-productions.co.uk 4 Aug 2020 to 14 Dec 2020 9 Jan 2021 to 20 Feb 2021
Sheffield Showroom Workstation sam.barnett@srws.org.uk 7 Sep 2020 to 23 Oct 2020 4 Nov 2020 to 30 Jan 2021
Wem, Shropshire MediaActive info@mediaactive.org 17 Aug 2020 to 15 Nov 2020 6 Feb 2021 to 28 Feb 2021
Yeovil Somerset Film and Video natalie@somersetfilm.com 13 Aug 2020 to date tbc 16 Oct 2020 to 27 Feb 2021

In 2020 to 2021 the BFI Film Academy will deliver in line with government guidelines on social distancing. Your course provider will provide you with specific guidance, which may mean that some delivery is face to face and some online. Please contact your chosen course directly if you wish to discuss any support or equipment needs.

BFI Film Academy courses are supported by the Department for Education in England, the National Lottery, Screen Scotland and Northern Ireland Screen.

Eligibility for short courses

In order to apply you must:

  • be aged 16 to 19-years-old on the first day of the course
  • be a UK resident
  • have a passion or talent for filmmaking and an ambition to work in the film industry
  • be able to commit to the duration of the course
  • not currently be at university or enrolled at university when the course starts
  • not have previously enrolled on a BFI Film Academy course

As each course is likely to have more people apply than available places, any evidence you have of your passion or talent will help your application. Every course is open to young people from anywhere in the UK and from any background. No academic education or degree is necessary.

Course accessibility

The BFI Film Academy encourages young people from all backgrounds and abilities to apply. Please email filmacademy@bfi.org.uk or your local provider to discuss any learning support or access requirements that you may have.

Costs

Short courses cost £25, but if you are unable to pay the fee don’t let this discourage you from applying. Contact the course provider, as costs may be waived. Bursaries for travel and childcare are also available if you require assistance with these costs.

How to apply

Each course has its own application process and you will need to apply directly to the organisation running it. Please visit the relevant organisation links in the table for further information.

The starting date for each course varies and there are different deadlines for applications. Please ensure that you can make all the dates for your chosen course before applying.

Related qualifications

If you enrol on a UK Short course you will be completing one of the following qualifications:

The Preparing to Work in the Film Industry qualification helps to develop young people’s interest, passion and skills to help in their potential careers across the film industry. This qualification has been driven by the needs of industry and education partners.

The Arts Award is a framework developed by Arts Council England to help young people learn new skills and share them. The BFI Film Academy is using Explore (specifically for participants with disabilities), Bronze and Silver. Employers, universities and colleges know that Arts Award is a qualification that shows young people’s level of commitment and progress in the arts, and in developing new skills.

Contact us

If you have any questions, please email filmacademy@bfi.org.uk.

See what it’s like on the VR Film Academy at Storyhouse in Chester: