Applications are now closed and will reopen in July 2022

These courses help train and inspire the next generation of UK filmmakers, supporting young people aged 16 to 19 to develop the commercial and cultural knowledge and skills to help make a career in film. No experience is necessary.

Courses are delivered across the UK. See the table below for details of areas, how and when to apply and when each course is running.

BFI Film Academy UK short courses by location
LocationOrganisation / application linkEnquiriesApplication dates (opens / closes)
AberdeenStation House Media Unitmurry.dawson@shmu.org.ukClosed
AberystwythBulldozer Filmsbulldozerfilms@hotmail.comClosed
Argyll and ButeScreen Argyllscreenargyll@gmail.comClosed
Barrow-in-FurnessSignals Film and Mediakezz@signalfilmandmedia.co.ukClosed
Belfast, Derry and AmarghThe Nerve Centree.king@nervecentre.orgClosed
BelfastCinemagicnathan@cinemagic.org.ukClosed
BirminghamThe Companyjanette@thecompanyltd.co.ukClosed
BournemouthWhite Lanterntom@whitelantern.co.uk adam@whitelantern.co.ukClosed
BradfordReel Solutionszoe@reelsolutions.co.ukClosed
BristolWatershedbex.r@watershed.co.ukClosed
Cambridge104 projects CICjustin@104films.comClosed
Cardiff and SwanseaBulldozer Filmsbulldozerfilms@hotmail.comClosed
ChesterReel Solutionszoe@reelsolutions.co.ukClosed
ColchesterSignals Essex

info@signals.org.uk

Closed
Crook, County DurhamJack Drum Artsinfo@jackdrum.co.ukClosed
DerbyDerby Quadfilmacademy@derbyquad.co.ukClosed
EdinburghScreen Education Edinburghadmin@screen-ed.orgClosed
GlasgowGMAC Filmlisa@gmacfilm.comClosed
HerefordRural Mediainfo@ruralmedia.co.ukClosed
HullCTVCbfifilmacademy@ctvc.co.ukClosed
Ipswich and NorwichCreative Nationhello@creative-nation.co.ukClosed
KentScreen Southinfo@screensouth.orgClosed
LincolnParadigm Artsrob@paradigmarts.co.ukClosed
LiverpoolScreenlife Liverpoolbazkush@gmail.comClosed
LondonBritish Film Institutefuturefilm.academy@bfi.org.ukClosed
LondonCTVCbfifilmacademy@ctvc.co.ukClosed
London, BarkingYoung Film Academycourses@youngfilmacademy.co.ukClosed
London, FulhamLondon Film Academyshortcourses@londonfilmacademy.comClosed
London, IslingtonThe Film and Video Workshopbooking@filmworkshop.comClosed
London, ShoreditchEastside Educational Trustapplications@eastside.org.ukClosed
London, HackneyMouth That Roarsmouththatroars@btconnect.comClosed
LeedsLeeds Young Filmmartin.grund@leeds.gov.ukClosed
ManchesterHOMEyoungcreatives@homemcr.orgClosed
Newcastle upon TyneBeacon Filmsmichelle@beaconfilms.org.ukClosed
NottinghamBroadwayfilmacademy@broadway.org.ukClosed
OxfordFilm Oxfordproduction@filmoxford.orgClosed
PlymouthPlymouth College of Artlleake@pca.ac.ukClosed
SheffieldShowroom Workstationsam.barnett@srws.org.ukClosed
SloughResource Productionsinfo@resource-productions.co.uk

Closed

Wem, ShropshireMediaActiveinfo@mediaactive.orgClosed
Bridgwater, SomersetSomerset Film and Videoinfo@somersetfilm.com Closed

In 2020 to 2021 the BFI Film Academy will deliver in line with government guidelines on social distancing. Your course provider will provide you with specific guidance, which may mean that some delivery is face to face and some online. Please contact your chosen course directly if you wish to discuss any support or equipment needs.

BFI Film Academy courses are supported by the Department for Education in England, the National Lottery, Screen Scotland and Northern Ireland Screen.

Eligibility for short courses

In order to apply you must:

  • be aged 16 to 19-years-old on the first day of the course
  • be a UK resident
  • have a passion or talent for filmmaking and an ambition to work in the film industry
  • be able to commit to the duration of the course
  • not currently be at university or enrolled at university when the course starts
  • not have previously enrolled on a BFI Film Academy course

As each course is likely to have more people apply than available places, any evidence you have of your passion or talent will help your application. Every course is open to young people from anywhere in the UK and from any background. No academic education or degree is necessary.

Course accessibility

The BFI Film Academy encourages young people from all backgrounds and abilities to apply. Please email filmacademy@bfi.org.uk or your local provider to discuss any learning support or access requirements that you may have.

Costs

Short courses cost £25, but if you are unable to pay the fee don’t let this discourage you from applying. Contact the course provider, as costs may be waived. Bursaries for travel and childcare are also available if you require assistance with these costs.

How to apply

Each course has its own application process and you will need to apply directly to the organisation running it. Please visit the relevant organisation links in the table for further information.

The starting date for each course varies and there are different deadlines for applications. Please ensure that you can make all the dates for your chosen course before applying.

Related qualifications

If you enrol on a UK short course you will be completing one of the following qualifications:

The Preparing to Work in the Film Industry qualification helps to develop young people’s interest, passion and skills to help in their potential careers across the film industry. This qualification has been driven by the needs of industry and education partners.

The Arts Award is a framework developed by Arts Council England to help young people learn new skills and share them. The BFI Film Academy is using Explore (specifically for participants with disabilities), Bronze and Silver. Employers, universities and colleges know that Arts Award is a qualification that shows young people’s level of commitment and progress in the arts, and in developing new skills.

Contact us

If you have any questions, please email filmacademy@bfi.org.uk.

See what it’s like on the VR Film Academy at Storyhouse in Chester:

Supported by