BFI Film Academy UK Network Programme

Applications for courses are now open.

Are you 16-19? Passionate about film? Want a career in the film industry?

If so, the BFI Film Academy is for you. This course offers you the chance to be part of our future film industry.

Courses are delivered at different locations across the UK. Please refer to table below for course providers in your area, how and when to apply and when each course is running. It’s recommended that you find a course as close to where you live as possible.

For details about the courses including eligibility criteria please see our BFI Film Academy FAQ page.

Location Organisation / application link Enquiries Application closing date Course dates (course start / finish)
Aberdeen Station House Media Unit bfi@shmu.org.uk 13/09/19 14/10/19 — 24/02/20
Barrow-in-Furness Signals Film and Media kezz@signalfilmandmedia.co.uk 27/09/19 12/10/19 — 03/11/19
Belfast Cinemagic shauna@cinemagic.org.uk 31/08/19 20/09/19 — 25/01/20
Belfast, Derry & Amargh The Nerve Centre e.king@nervecentre.org 20/09/19 26/09/19 — 14/02/20
Birmingham The Company janette@thecompanyltd.co.uk 23/09/19 13/10/19 — 17/11/19
Bournemouth White Lantern info@getinsidemovies.co.uk 15/10/19 17/11/19 — 16/02/20
Bradford Reel Solutions zoe@reelsolutions.co.uk 14/10/19 23/10/19 — 09/11/19
Bristol Watershed bex.r@watershed.co.uk 04/11/19 30/11/19 — 04/04/20
Bristol Bristol Old Vic Theatre School bex.rose@oldvic.ac.uk 04/11/19 30/11/19 — 18/03/20
Cardiff & Swansea Ffresh info@ffresh.com 30/09/19 21/10/19 — 01/11/19
Chester Reel Solutions zoe@reelsolutions.co.uk 30/09/19 12/10/19 — 30/11/19
Crook, County Durham Jack Drum Arts info@jackdrum.co.uk 23/09/19 05/10/19 — 25/01/20
Edinburgh Screen Education Edinburgh admin@screen-ed.org 30/09/19 19/10/19 — 01/02/20
Glasgow GMAC filmacademy@gmacfilm.com 26/08/19 28/09/19 — 18/01/20
Hereford Rural Media Productions info@ruralmedia.co.uk 25/09/19 09/10/19 — 06/03/20
Hull CTVC bfifilmacademy@ctvc.co.uk 29/09/19 13/10/19 — 07/12/19
Ipswich & Norwich Creative Nation hello@creative-nation.co.uk 04/10/19 19/10/19 — 25/10/19
Kent Screen South apply@screensouth.org 26/09/19 12/10/19 — 01/02/20
Leeds Leeds Young Film martin.grund@leeds.gov.uk 27/09/19 05/10/19 — 18/12/19
Lincoln Paradigm Arts rob@paradigmarts.co.uk 27/9/19 12/10/19 — 01/02/20
London British Film Institute futurefilm.academy@bfi.org.uk 06/09/19 18/09/19 — 07/12/19
London CTVC bfifilmacademy@ctvc.co.uk 29/09/19 13/10/19 — 07/12/19
London, Barking Young Film Academy courses@youngfilmacademy.co.uk 11/10/19 22/10/19 — 01/12/19
London, Fulham London Film Academy admissions@londonfilmacademy.com 20/09/19 05/10/19 — 19/01/20
London, Hackney Mouth That Roars mouththatroars@btconnect.com 11/11/19 09/12/19 — 09/02/20
London, Islington The Film and Video Workshop booking@filmworkshop.com 19/09/19 28/09/19 — 26/10/19
London, Shoreditch Eastside Educational Trust applications@eastside.org.uk 27/09/19 19/10/19 — 15/02/20
Manchester HOME youngcreatives@homemcr.org 30/09/19 09/10/19 — 09/12/19
Newcastle Upon Tyne Beacon Films michelle@beaconfilms.org.uk 07/11/19 01/12/19 — 20/02/20
Newcastle Upon Tyne Tyneside Cinema ian.fenton@tynesidecinema.co.uk 01/09/19 14/09/19 — 07/12/19
Nottingham Broadway filmacademy@broadway.org.uk 06/10/19 24/10/19 — 01/02/20
Oxford Film Oxford production@filmoxford.org 01/10/19 19/10/19 — 10/11/19
Pinewood & Shepperton Resource Productions info@resource-productions.co.uk 29/09/19 28/10/19 — 08/02/20
Plymouth Plymouth College of Art babbott@pca.ac.uk 20/09/19 05/10/19 — 21/01/20
Sheffield Showroom Workstation bfi.academy@srws.org.uk 22/10/19 06/11/19 — 25/01/20
Wem, Shropshire MediaActive info@mediaactive.org 27/09/19 12/10/19 — 26/11/19
Yeovil Somerset Film and Video natalie@somersetfilm.com 04/10/19 19/10/19 — 01/11/19

Courses cost £25. If you are unable to pay the full course fee, don’t let this discourage you from applying as costs may be waived. Bursaries for travel and childcare are also available if you require assistance with these costs.

See what it’s like on the VR Film Academy at Storyhouse in Chester:

The BFI Film Academy aims to help train and inspire the next generation of UK filmmakers, supporting talented and committed young people aged 16-19 to develop the commercial and cultural knowledge and skills to help make a career in film a reality.

The BFI Film Academy offers training for every film industry role, from writing to production, sound design, editing and camera, and provides learning around film history and cinematic storytelling to inspire an appreciation of film culture in the round.

The BFI Film Academy contributes to a core aim of the BFI’s 2022 strategy which aims to provide everyone with the opportunity to build a lifelong relationship with film; to create a clear progression paths for talented young people and to ensure that film is celebrated and explored in formal education.

The BFI Film Academy is supported by the Department for Education in England, the National Lottery, Screen Scotland and Northern Ireland Screen.

Watch videos now

Back to the top

See something different

Subscribe now for exclusive offers and the best of cinema.
Hand-picked.