BFI Film Academy UK Network Programme

Applications for courses are now open.

Are you 16-19? Passionate about film? Want a career in the film industry?

If so, the BFI Film Academy is for you. This course offers you the chance to be part of our future film industry.

Courses are delivered at different locations across the UK. Please refer to table below for course providers in your area, how and when to apply and when each course is running. It’s recommended that you find a course as close to where you live as possible.

For details about the courses including eligibility criteria please see our BFI Film Academy FAQ page.

Location Organisation / application link Enquiries Application closing date Course dates (course start / finish)
Aberdeen Station House Media Unit bfi@shmu.org.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 14/10/19 — 24/02/20
Argyll and Bute Screen Argyll screenargyll@gmail.com The course has now closed for recruitment 12/10/19 — 20/01/20
Barrow-in-Furness Signals Film and Media kezz@signalfilmandmedia.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 12/10/19 — 03/11/19
Belfast Cinemagic shauna@cinemagic.org.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 20/09/19 — 25/01/20
Belfast, Derry & Amargh The Nerve Centre e.king@nervecentre.org The course has now closed for recruitment 26/09/19 — 14/02/20
Birmingham The Company janette@thecompanyltd.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 13/10/19 — 17/11/19
Bournemouth White Lantern info@getinsidemovies.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 17/11/19 — 16/02/20
Bradford Reel Solutions zoe@reelsolutions.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 23/10/19 — 09/11/19
Bristol Watershed bex.r@watershed.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 30/11/19 — 04/04/20
Bristol Bristol Old Vic Theatre School bex.rose@oldvic.ac.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 30/11/19 — 18/03/20
Cambridge 104 projects CIC justin@104films.com The course has now closed for recruitment 21/10/19 — 25/10/19
Cardiff & Swansea Ffresh info@ffresh.com The course has now closed for recruitment 21/10/19 — 01/11/19
Chester Reel Solutions zoe@reelsolutions.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 12/10/19 — 30/11/19
Colchester Signals Essex rachel@signals.org.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 12/10/19 — 07/12/19
Conwy TAPE steve@tapemusicandfilm.co.uk 15/11/19 14/12/19 — 01/02/20
Crook, County Durham Jack Drum Arts info@jackdrum.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 05/10/19 — 25/01/20
Edinburgh Screen Education Edinburgh admin@screen-ed.org The course has now closed for recruitment 19/10/19 — 01/02/20
Glasgow GMAC filmacademy@gmacfilm.com The course has now closed for recruitment 28/09/19 — 18/01/20
Hereford Rural Media Productions info@ruralmedia.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 09/10/19 — 06/03/20
Hull CTVC bfifilmacademy@ctvc.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 13/10/19 — 07/12/19
Ipswich & Norwich Creative Nation hello@creative-nation.co.uk 03/01/20 18/01/20 — 02/02/20
Kent Screen South apply@screensouth.org The course has now closed for recruitment 12/10/19 — 01/02/20
Leeds Leeds Young Film martin.grund@leeds.gov.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 05/10/19 — 18/12/19
Lincoln Paradigm Arts rob@paradigmarts.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 12/10/19 — 01/02/20
London British Film Institute futurefilm.academy@bfi.org.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 18/09/19 — 07/12/19
London CTVC bfifilmacademy@ctvc.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 13/10/19 — 07/12/19
London, Barking Young Film Academy courses@youngfilmacademy.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 22/10/19 — 01/12/19
London, Fulham London Film Academy admissions@londonfilmacademy.com The course has now closed for recruitment 05/10/19 — 19/01/20
London, Hackney Mouth That Roars mouththatroars@btconnect.com The course has now closed for recruitment 09/12/19 — 09/02/20
London, Islington The Film and Video Workshop booking@filmworkshop.com The course has now closed for recruitment 28/09/19 — 26/10/19
London, Shoreditch Eastside Educational Trust applications@eastside.org.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 19/10/19 — 15/02/20
Manchester HOME youngcreatives@homemcr.org The course has now closed for recruitment 09/10/19 — 09/12/19
Newcastle Upon Tyne Beacon  Films michelle@beaconfilms.org.uk 07/11/19 01/12/19 — 20/02/20
Newcastle Upon Tyne Tyneside Cinema ian.fenton@tynesidecinema.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 14/09/19 — 07/12/19
Nottingham Broadway filmacademy@broadway.org.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 24/10/19 — 01/02/20
Oxford Film Oxford production@filmoxford.org The course has now closed for recruitment 19/10/19 — 10/11/19
Pinewood & Shepperton Resource Productions info@resource-productions.co.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 28/10/19 — 08/02/20
Plymouth Plymouth College of Art babbott@pca.ac.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 05/10/19 — 21/01/20
Sheffield Showroom Workstation sam.barnett@srws.org.uk The course has now closed for recruitment 06/11/19 — 25/01/20
Wem, Shropshire MediaActive info@mediaactive.org The course has now closed for recruitment 12/10/19 — 26/11/19
Yeovil Somerset Film and Video natalie@somersetfilm.com 16/12/19 11/01/20 — 08/02/20

Courses cost £25. If you are unable to pay the full course fee, don’t let this discourage you from applying as costs may be waived. Bursaries for travel and childcare are also available if you require assistance with these costs.

See what it’s like on the VR Film Academy at Storyhouse in Chester:

The BFI Film Academy aims to help train and inspire the next generation of UK filmmakers, supporting talented and committed young people aged 16-19 to develop the commercial and cultural knowledge and skills to help make a career in film a reality.

The BFI Film Academy offers training for every film industry role, from writing to production, sound design, editing and camera, and provides learning around film history and cinematic storytelling to inspire an appreciation of film culture in the round.

The BFI Film Academy contributes to a core aim of the BFI’s 2022 strategy which aims to provide everyone with the opportunity to build a lifelong relationship with film; to create a clear progression paths for talented young people and to ensure that film is celebrated and explored in formal education.

The BFI Film Academy is supported by the Department for Education in England, the National Lottery, Screen Scotland and Northern Ireland Screen.

Watch videos now

Back to the top

See something different

Subscribe now for exclusive offers and the best of cinema.
Hand-picked.