The Mask (1976)

Film details

Alternative titles

  • Dickens of London Episode 1 Mask Alternative


A series of thirteen programmes tracing the life and times of Charles Dickens from his early, penniless days during the 1820s to the unprecedented success he enjoyed on both sides of the Atlantic before his death in 1870. Individual episode titles are as follows: Mask; The deed; Blacking; Love; Success; Fame; Money; Possession; Dreams; Magic; Nightmare; Angel; Memories In MASK, Dickens, feverish in New York, relives his boyhood.

Cast & Credits

Latest from the BFI

  • Latest from the BFI

    Latest news, features and opinion.

More information

Films, TV and people

  • Films, TV and people

    Film lists and highlights from BFI Player.

More information

Sight & Sound magazine

  • Sight & Sound magazine

    Reviews, interviews and features from the international film magazine.

More information

Back to the top