J. Timothy Richards (Chair)

Prior to entering the entertainment industry Tim was a Wall Street lawyer engaged in international finance and cross-border mergers and acquisitions. In 1999, Tim left Warner Bros. Studio in Los Angeles and founded a start-up cinema exhibition company now known as Vue International.

Today Vue International is one of the world’s leading cinema operators trading in nine countries with 225 cinemas and entertaining over 100 million customers a year.

In December 2020, Variety magazine named Tim as one of the 500 most influential business leaders shaping the global $2 trillion entertainment industry. The Hollywood Reporter named Tim as one of the top five entertainment innovators of the year, and the Independent newspaper named Tim as one of the “20 Most Influential People in Film”.

Tim and his wife Sylvie support a number of charities through their family charitable foundation. In 2015, Tim was awarded the Variety International Children’s Fund Humanitarian Award for his charitable work.

Michael Birshan

Michael Birshan is a Senior Partner at McKinsey & Company. He co-leads the firm’s Strategy & Corporate Finance Practice in Europe, the Middle East and Africa and serves on the council of the McKinsey Global Institute.

Passionate about education, communication and creativity, Michael is a member of the governing body of the Royal College of Art and the advisory council of King’s Business School. He has been a commissioner of the Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission, which stewards the British Marshall Scholarships, and a trustee of the World Schools Debating Championships.

Idris Elba, OBE

Idris Elba OBE is an award-winning actor, producer and director. He earned a Golden Globe, Screen Actors Guild Award and four Emmy nominations for his role as Luther in the 2010 series, and has extensive film credits including American Gangster, Mandela: The Long Walk to Freedom, Beasts of No Nation and the Oscar-nominated Molly’s Game.

Behind the camera, Elba made his feature film directorial debut at the 2018 Sundance Film Festival with Yardie. In 2013, he founded his production company, Green Door Pictures, to champion diversity. Through Green Door, Elba released the documentary Mandela, My Dad and Me, produced the TV mini-series Guerrilla for Showtime, and created, produced and appears in the Sky comedy series In The Long Run. He also created, produces and stars in the Netflix comedy series Turn Up Charlie.

Jay Hunt

Jay Hunt is Apple TV + Creative Director for Europe. She is the only person to have led BBC One, Channel 5 and Channel 4. She started her career at BBC News working on Newsnight and Panorama before becoming editor of both the One O’clock and Six O’clock News. She was Controller of BBC Daytime and Director of Programmes at Channel 5, before returning to the BBC in 2008 to run BBC One. There her commissions included Sherlock, Luther and Mrs. Brown’s Boys. In 2011 she was made the first Chief Creative Officer of Channel 4. Over the next 7 years, she led what was described as a “creative renaissance”, delivering global hits from Gogglebox to Humans, Catastrophe to Hunted, First Dates to Derry Girls.

Robin Saunders

Robin Saunders is Managing Partner of Clearbrook Capital Partners LLP, a private investment and advisory group working with growth companies across a variety of sectors, including business services, real estate, energy, utilities and asset management, based in Europe, the Middle East, Africa and North America.

Prior to founding Clearbrook, Robin was a leading corporate banker who led intrapreneurial teams specialising in securitisation and principal finance within banks including Citigroup, Deutsche Bank, and WestLB. She has served on numerous boards, including Formula One Holdings; Pubmistress; Swan Capital Group; Whyte and Mackay Group Ltd; Odeon; The Office of the Rail Regulator; Sadler’s Wells Theatre and others.

Robin is an enthusiastic supporter of numerous arts organisations in the United Kingdom and the United States; a visiting fellow at Said Business School, University of Oxford; and actively mentors young entrepreneurs in various countries.

Andrew Smith OBE DL

Andrew joined Pinewood Studios in June 2008 as Corporate Affairs Director. Prior to this, Andrew was Managing Partner of The Policy Partnership. Andrew is currently a member of the British Film Commission Advisory Board, the British Screen Advisory Board and BAFTA. He is also a non-Executive Director of Bucks Business First and Chair of the Buckinghamshire Thames Valley Local Enterprise Partnership.

Phil Stokes

Phil is a partner with PricewaterhouseCoopers. He has an extensive background in working with and advising film and media companies and led PwC’s entertainment and media industry group in the UK for twelve years to 2017, and its EMEA Telecoms, Media and Technology practice from 2012 to 2015. He also founded and led the firm’s global Digital Transformation group, responding to the impact of new technologies and changing consumer behaviours across all industries. He advises companies on financial controls, risk management, corporate governance and financial reporting. He is a trustee of Groundwork London, a school governor and has been a non-governor member of the BFI’s Audit, Risk and Governance Committee for two years.

Nell Whitley

Eleanor (Nell) Whitley has a reputation for driving forward ambitious work in a variety of forms – live events, art installations & digital media – her collaborations with Marshmallow Laser Feast (where she is Executive Producer) demonstrate a unique vision for the future of creative experiences. She has produced the critically acclaimed In the Eyes of the Animal (Sundance New Frontier 2016, Wired Award for Innovation in Experience Design) and other mixed reality works, including; A Colossal Wave (SXSW 2018), Treehugger (Tribeca Film Festival Storyscapes Award 2017 & Best VR Film at Arles Festival) and We Live in an Ocean of Air which premiered at the Saatchi Gallery, London (2018-9).