BAFTAs 2017: the winners in full

La La Land sweeps up five prizes, while Ken Loach’s I, Daniel Blake is named best British film.

La La Land (2016)

Damien Chazelle’s La La Land is the big winner at the 2017 BAFTAs, scooping five awards, including best picture and best director. First screening to UK audiences at the BFI London Film Festival, Chazelle’s exuberant musical also won best actress for Emma Stone, best cinematography and best original music.

Ken Loach’s powerful welfare state drama I, Daniel Blake, backed with National Lottery funding through the BFI Film Fund, was named the year’s outstanding British film, while Babak Anvari’s Tehran-set horror film Under the Shadow won best British debut.

With two awards each are Manchester by the Sea and Lion, both also alumni of the BFI London Film Festival. Kenneth Lonergan’s emotional family drama Manchester by the Sea took best actor for Casey Affleck and best original screenplay for Lonergan, while Garth Davis’s Lion nabbed best supporting actor for Dev Patel and best adapted screenplay for Luke Davies. Rounding out the acting prizes was a win for Viola Davis for her supporting role in Fences.

Other BAFTA-winning films that screened at the BFI London Film Festival are Ava DuVernay’s 13th (best documentary), the Holocaust drama Son of Saul (best film not in the English language) and Denis Villeneuve’s first-contact story Arrival (best sound).

Although it went into the night with nine nominations, Tom Ford’s thriller Nocturnal Animals came away empty-handed, while Barry Jenkins’ Moonlight also lost out in its four nominated categories.

The winners were announced at a starry ceremony at the Royal Albert Hall, London, presented as usual by Stephen Fry.

Best film

Winner: La La Land – Fred Berger, Jordan Horowitz, Marc Platt

Arrival – Dan Levine, Shawn Levy, David Linde, Aaron Ryder
I, Daniel Blake – Rebecca O’Brien
Manchester by the Sea – Lauren Beck, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Kimberly Steward, Kevin J. Walsh
Moonlight – Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Adele Romanski


Winner: La La Land – Damien Chazelle

Arrival – Denis Villeneuve
I, Daniel Blake – Ken Loach
Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan
Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford

Leading actress

Winner: Emma Stone – La La Land

Amy Adams – Arrival
Emily Blunt – The Girl on the Train
Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins
Natalie Portman – Jackie

Leading actor

Winner: Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea

Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge
Jake Gyllenhaal – Nocturnal Animals
Ryan Gosling – La La Land
Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic

Supporting actor

Winner: Dev Patel – Lion

Aaron Taylor-Johnson – Nocturnal Animals
Hugh Grant – Florence Foster Jenkins
Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water
Mahershala Ali – Moonlight

Lion (2016)

Supporting actress

Winner: Viola Davis – Fences

Hayley Squires – I, Daniel Blake
Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea
Naomie Harris – Moonlight
Nicole Kidman – Lion

Outstanding British film

Winner: I, Daniel Blake – Ken Loach, Rebecca O’Brien, Paul Laverty

American Honey – Andrea Arnold, Lars Knudsen, Pouya Shahbazian, Jay Van Hoy
Denial – Mick Jackson, Gary Foster, Russ Krasnoff, David Hare
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – David Yates, J.K. Rowling, David Heyman, Steve Kloves, Lionel Wigram
Notes on Blindness – Peter Middleton, James Spinney, Mike Brett, Jo-Jo Ellison, Steve Jamison
Under the Shadow – Babak Anvari, Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill, Lucan Toh

I, Daniel Blake (2016)

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer

Winner: Under the Shadow – Babak Anvari (Writer/Director), Emily Leo, Oliver Roskill, Lucan Toh (Producers)

The Girl with All the Gifts – Mike Carey (Writer), Camille Gatin (Producer)
The Hard Stop – George Amponsah (Writer/Director/Producer), Dionne Walker (Writer/Producer)
Notes on Blindness – Peter Middleton (Writer/Director/Producer), James Spinney (Writer/Director), Jo-Jo Ellison (Producer)
The Pass – John Donnelly (Writer), Ben A. Williams (Director)

Under the Shadow (2016)

Original screenplay

Winner: Manchester by the Sea – Kenneth Lonergan

Hell or High Water – Taylor Sheridan
I, Daniel Blake – Paul Laverty
La La Land – Damien Chazelle
Moonlight – Barry Jenkins

Adapted screenplay

Winner: Lion – Luke Davies

Arrival – Eric Heisserer
Hacksaw Ridge – Robert Schenkkan, Andrew Knight
Hidden Figures – Theodore Melfi, Allison Schroeder
Nocturnal Animals – Tom Ford

Film not in the English language

Winner: Son of Saul – László Nemes, Gábor Sipos

Dheepan – Jacques Audiard, Pascal Caucheteux
Julieta – Pedro Almodóvar
Mustang – Deniz Gamze Ergüven, Charles Gillibert
Toni Erdmann – Maren Ade, Janine Jackowski

Son of Saul (2015)


Winner: 13th – Ava Duvernay

The Beatles: Eight Days a Week – The Touring Years – Ron Howard
The Eagle Huntress – Otto Bell, Stacey Reiss
Notes on Blindness – Peter Middleton, James Spinney
Weiner – Josh Kriegman, Elyse Steinberg

13th (2016)

Animated film

Winner: Kubo and the Two Strings – Travis Knight

Finding Dory – Andrew Stanton
Moana – Ron Clements, John Musker
Zootopia – Byron Howard, Rich Moore

Original music

Winner: La La Land – Justin Hurwitz

Arrival – Jóhann Jóhannsson
Jackie – Mica Levi
Lion – Dustin O’halloran, Hauschka
Nocturnal Animals – Abel Korzeniowski


Winner: La La Land – Linus Sandgren

Arrival – Bradford Young
Hell or High Water – Giles Nuttgens
Lion – Greig Fraser
Nocturnal Animals – Seamus Mcgarvey


Winner: Hacksaw Ridge – John Gilbert

Arrival – Joe Walker
La La Land – Tom Cross
Manchester by the Sea – Jennifer Lame
Nocturnal Animals – Joan Sobel

Production design

Winner: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Stuart Craig, Anna Pinnock

Doctor Strange – John Bush, Charles Wood
Hail, Caesar! – Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh
La La Land – Sandy Reynolds-Wasco, David Wasco
Nocturnal Animals – Shane Valentino, Meg Everist

Costume design

Winner: Jackie – Madeline Fontaine

Allied – Joanna Johnston
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Colleen Atwood
Florence Foster Jenkins – Consolata Boyle
La La Land – Mary Zophres

Jackie (2016)

Makeup & hair

Winner: Florence Foster Jenkins – J. Roy Helland, Daniel Phillips

Doctor Strange – Jeremy Woodhead
Hacksaw Ridge – Shane Thomas
Nocturnal Animals – Donald Mowat, Yolanda Toussieng
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Nominees TBC


Winner: Arrival – Claude La Haye, Bernard Gariépy Strobl, Sylvain Bellemare

Deepwater Horizon – Mike Prestwood Smith, Dror Mohar, Wylie Stateman, David Wyman
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Niv Adiri, Glenn Freemantle, Simon Hayes, Andy Nelson, Ian Tapp
Hacksaw Ridge – Peter Grace, Robert Mackenzie, Kevin O’Connell, Andy Wright
La La Land – Mildred Iatrou Morgan, Ai-Ling Lee, Steve A. Morrow, Andy Nelson

Arrival (2016)

Special visual effects

Winner: The Jungle Book – Robert Legato, Dan Lemmon, Andrew R. Jones, Adam Valdez

Arrival – Louis Morin
Doctor Strange – Richard Bluff, Stephane Ceretti, Paul Corbould, Jonathan Fawkner
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Tim Burke, Pablo Grillo, Christian Manz, David Watkins
Rogue One: A Star Wars Story – Neil Corbould, Hal Hickel, Mohen Leo, John Knoll, Nigel Sumner

British short animation

Winner: A Love Story – Khaled Gad, Anushka Kishani Naanayakkara, Elena Ruscombe-King

The Alan Dimension – Jac Clinch, Jonathan Harbottle, Millie Marsh
Tough – Jennifer Zheng

British short film

Winner: Home – Shpat Deda, Afolabi Kuti, Daniel Mulloy, Scott O’Donnell

Consumed – Richard John Seymour
Mouth of Hell – Bart Gavigan, Samir Mehanovic, Ailie Smith, Michael Wilson
The Party – Farah Abushwesha, Emmet Fleming, Andrea Harkin, Conor Macneill
Standby – Charlotte Regan, Jack Hannon

EE Rising Star Award (Voted for by the public)

Winner: Tom Holland

Anya Taylor-Joy
Laia Costa
Lucas Hedges
Ruth Negga

Outstanding contribution to British film


BAFTA Fellowship

Mel Brooks

BFI Player logo

Stream new, cult and classic films

A free trial, then just £4.99/month or £49/year.

Try 14 days free