Jane Campion’s western The Power of the Dog has won best film at the 2022 BAFTAs, with Campion also winning best director. Denis Villeneuve’s Dune was the most awarded film of the night, winning in five technical categories.

Joanna Scanlan won best actress for her performance in Aleem Khan’s After Love, a film funded and distributed by the BFI and available now on BFI Player and on BFI Blu-ray. Best actor was Will Smith for King Richard.

The Power of the Dog (2021)
© Courtesy of Netflix/See-Saw Films

Kenneth Branagh’s Belfast was named the year’s outstanding British film, while writer-director Jeymes Samuel won the award for outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer for his western The Harder They Fall.

Best British short film went to The Black Cop, directed by Cherish Oteka and funded via the BFI Doc Society Fund and BFI NETWORK.

Congratulations to the winning films, many of which first screened to UK audiences at the BFI London Film Festival. 

Best film

Winner: The Power of the Dog – Jane Campion, Iain Canning, Roger Frappier, Tanya Seghatchian, Emile Sherman

Belfast – Laura Berwick, Kenneth Branagh, Becca Kovacik, Tamar Thomas
Don’t Look Up – Adam McKay, Kevin Messick
Dune – Mary Parent, Cale Boyter, Denis Villeneuve
Licorice Pizza – Sara Murphy, Paul Thomas Anderson, Adam Somner

Outstanding British film

Winner: Belfast – Kenneth Branagh, Laura Berwick, Becca Kovacik, Tamar Thomas

After Love – Aleem Khan, Matthieu De Braconier
Ali & Ava – Clio Bernard, Tracy O’Riordan
Boiling Point – Philip Barantini, Bart Ruspoli, Hester Ruoff, James Cummings
Cyrano – Joe Wright, Tim Bevan, Eric Fellner, Guy Heely, Erica Schmidt
Everybody’s Talking About Jamie – Jonathan Butterell, Peter Carlton, Mark Herbert, Tom Macrae
House of Gucci – Ridley Scott, Mark Huffam, Giannina Scott, Kevin J Walsh, Roberto Bentivegna, Becky Johnston
Last Night in Soho – Edgar Wright, Tim Bevan & Eric Fellner, Nira Park, Krysty Wilson-Cairns
No Time to Die – Cary Joji Fukunaga, Barbara Broccoli, Michael G. Wilson, Neal Pervis, Robert
Wade, Phoebe Waller-Bridge
Passing – Rebecca Hall, Margot Hand, Nina Yang Bongiovi, Forest Whitaker

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer

Winner: The Harder They Fall – Jeymes Samuel (writer/director) [also written by Boaz Yakin]

After Love – Aleem Khan (writer/director)
Boiling Point – James Cummings (writer), Hester Ruoff (producer) [also written by Philip Barantini and produced by Bart Ruspoli]
Keyboard Fantasies – Posy Dixon (writer/director), Liv Proctor (producer)
Passing – Rebecca Hall (writer/director)

Film not in the English language

Winner: Drive My Car – Ryûsuke Hamaguchi, Teruhisa Yamamoto

The Hand of God – Paolo Sorrentino, Lorenzo Mieli
Parallel Mothers – Pedro Almodóvar, Agustín Almodóvar
Petite Maman – Céline Sciamma, Bénédicte Couvreur
The Worst Person in the World – Joachim Trier, Thomas Robsahm


Winner: Summer of Soul (or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, David Dinerstein, Robert Fyvolent, Joseph Patel

Becoming Cousteau – Liz Garbus, Dan Cogan
Cow – Andrea Arnold, Kat Mansoor
Flee – Jonas Poher Rasmussen. Monica Hellström
The Rescue – Elizabeth Chai Vasarhelyi, Jimmy Chin, John Battsek, P. J. Van Sandwijk

Animated film

Winner: Encanto – Jared Bush, Byron Howard, Yvett Merino, Clarke Spencer

Flee – Jonas Poher Rasmussen. Monica Hellström
Luca – Enrico Casarosa, Andrea Warren
The Mitchells Vs the Machines – Mike Rianda, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller


Winner: The Power of the Dog – Jane Campion

After Love – Aleem Khan
Drive My Car – Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
Happening – Audrey Diwan
Licorice Pizza – Paul Thomas Anderson
Titane – Julia Ducournau

Original screenplay

Winner: Licorice Pizza – Paul Thomas Anderson

Being the Ricardos – Aaron Sorkin
Belfast – Kenneth Branagh
Don’t Look Up – Adam Mckay
King Richard – Zach Baylin

Adapted screenplay

Winner: Coda – Siân Heder

Drive My Car – Ryûsuke Hamaguchi
Dune – Denis Villeneuve
The Lost Daughter – Maggie Gyllenhaal
The Power of the Dog – Jane Campion

Leading actress

Winner: Joanna Scanlan – After Love

Lady Gaga – House of Gucci
Alana Haim – Licorice Pizza
Emilia Jones – Coda
Renate Reinsve – The Worst Person in the World
Tessa Thompson – Passing

Leading actor

Winner: Will Smith – King Richard

Adeel Akhtar – Ali & Ava
Mahershala Ali – Swan Song
Benedict Cumberbatch –  The Power of the Dog
Leonardo Dicaprio – Don’t Look Up
Stephen Graham – Boiling Point

Supporting actress

Winner: Ariana Debose – West Side Story

Caitríona Balfe – Belfast
Jessie Buckley – The Lost Daughter
Ann Dowd – Mass
Aunjanue Ellis – King Richard
Ruth Negga – Passing

Supporting actor

Winner: Troy Kotsur – Coda

Mike Faist – West Side Story
Ciarán Hinds – Belfast
Woody Norman – C’mon C’mon
Jesse Plemons – The Power of the Dog
Kodi Smit-McPhee – The Power of the Dog

Original score

Winner: Dune – Hans Zimmer

Being the Ricardos – Daniel Pemberton
Don’t Look Up – Nicholas Britell
The French Dispatch – Alexandre Desplat
The Power of the Dog – Jonny Greenwood


Winner: West Side Story – Cindy Tolan

Boiling Point – Carolyn Mcleod
Dune – Francine Maisler
The Hand of God – Massimo Appolloni, Annamaria Sambucco
King Richard – Rich Delia, Avy Kaufman


Winner: Dune – Greig Fraser

Nightmare Alley – Dan Laustsen
No Time to Die – Linus Sandgren
The Power of the Dog – Ari Wegner
The Tragedy of Macbeth – Bruno Delbonnel


Winner: No Time to Die – Tom Cross, Elliot Graham

Belfast – Úna Ní Dhonghaíle
Dune – Joe Walker
Licorice Pizza – Andy Jurgensen
Summer of Soul (or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised) – Joshua L. Pearson

Production design

Winner: Dune – Patrice Vermette, Zsuzsanna Sipos

Cyrano – Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
The French Dispatch – Adam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo
Nightmare Alley – Tamara Deverell, Shane Vieau
West Side Story – Adam Stockhausen, Rena Deangelo

Costume design

Winner: Cruella – Jenny Beavan

Cyrano – Massimo Cantini Parrini
Dune – Robert Morgan, Jacqueline West
The French Dispatch – Milena Canonero
Nightmare Alley – Luis Sequeira

Makeup and hair

Winner: The Eyes of Tammy Faye – Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram, Justin Raleigh

Cruella – Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne
Cyrano – Alessandro Bertolazzi, Siân Miller
Dune – Love Larson, Donald Mowat
House of Gucci – Frederic Aspiras, Jane Carboni, Giuliano Mariana, Sarah Nicole Tanno


Winner: Dune – Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Doug Hemphill, Theo Green, Ron Bartlett

Last Night in Soho – Colin Nicolson, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Dan Morgan
No Time to Die – James Harrison, Simon Hayes, Paul Massey, Oliver Tarney, Mark Taylor
A Quiet Place Part II –  Erik Aadahl, Michael Barosky, Brandon Proctor, Ethan Van Der Ryn
West Side Story – Brian Chumney, Tod Maitland, Andy Nelson, Gary Rydstrom 

Special visual effects

Winner: Dune – Brian Connor, Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Gerd Nefzer

Free Guy – Swen Gillberg, Brian Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis, Daniel Sudick
Ghostbusters: Afterlife – Aharon Bourland, Sheena Duggal, Pier Lefebvre, Alessandro Ongaro
The Matrix Resurrections – Tom Debenham, Hew J Evans, Dan Glass, J. D. Schwaim
No Time to Die – Mark Bokowski, Chris Corbould, Joel Green, Charlie Noble

British short animation

Winner: Do Not Feed the Pigeons – Jordi Morera

Affairs of the Art – Joanna Quinn, Les Mills
Night of the Living Dread – Ida Melum, Danielle Goff, Laura Jayne Tunbridge, Hannah Kelso

British short film

Winner: The Black Cop – Cherish Oteka

Femme – Sam H. Freeman, Ng Choon Ping, Sam Ritzenberg, Hayley Williams
The Palace – Jo Prichard
Stuffed – Theo Rhys, Joss Holden-Rea
Three Meetings of the Extraordinary Committee – Michael Woodward, Max Barron,
Daniel Wheldon

EE Rising Star award (voted for by the public)

Winner: Lashana Lynch

Ariana Debose
Harris Dickinson
Millicent Simmonds
Kodi Smit-McPhee