British Independent Film Awards 2014: the winners in full

Pride takes the award for best film at the 2014 British Independent Film Awards, as well as two acting prizes.

Pride (2014)

Culture-clash comedy Pride has won the top award at the 2014 Moët British Independent Film Awards (MBIFAs). The true story of an unusual political alliance between gay rights protestors and striking miners in 1980s Britain, it also took both best supporting actress for Imelda Staunton and best supporting actor for Andrew Scott.

Other categories were evenly spread across some of the year’s best UK indie films, with debut director Yann Demange taking best director for his Northern Ireland-set thriller ’71, Brendan Gleeson named best actor as the priest hero of Calvary, and Gugu Mbatha-Raw winning best actress for the 18th-century drama Belle.

As previously announced, Emma Thompson took home the Richard Harris Award for outstanding contribution to British film, with Benedict Cumberbatch taking the Variety Award and director John Boorman the Special Jury Prize.

Pride, ’71, Calvary, Belle and other winners including 20,000 Days on Earth, Frank, Catch Me Daddy and The Goob were all backed by the BFI Film Fund.

Ben Roberts, Director of the BFI Film Fund said:

Thanks to BIFA for recognising such an array of brilliant British storytelling and exceptional talent on both sides of the camera at this year's awards. We feel an enormous sense of pride in having worked with many of this year’s nominees and winners, many of whom we have been able to support with Lottery funding. Congratulations to them all and we look forward to working with many of them on their future projects, and seeing their continued success.

The ceremony was hosted at Old Billingsgate, London by Inbetweeners star Simon Bird.

Best British independent film


Best director

Yann Demange  – ’71

The Douglas Hickox Award [Best debut director]

Iain Forsyth, Jane Pollard – 20,000 Days on Earth

Best screenplay

Jon Ronson, Peter Straughan – Frank

Best actress

Gugu Mbatha-Raw – Belle

Best actor

Brendan Gleeson – Calvary

Best supporting actress

Imelda Staunton – Pride

Best supporting actor

Andrew Scott – Pride

Most promising newcomer

Sameena Jabeen Ahmed – Catch Me Daddy

Best achievement in production 

The Goob

Best technical achievement

Stephen Rennicks – music – Frank

Best documentary

Next Goal Wins

Best British short

The Kármán Line

Best international independent film


The Raindance Award


The Richard Harris Award (for outstanding contribution by an actor to British film)

Emma Thompson

The Variety Award

Benedict Cumberbatch

The Special Jury Prize

John Boorman

BFI Player logo

All-you-can-watch access to 100s of films

A free trial, then just £4.99/month or £49/year.

Get free trial