British Independent Film Awards 2023: the winners in full

Andrew Haigh’s All of Us Strangers wins seven awards, including best British independent film.

4 December 2023

Andrew Scott and Paul Mescal in All of Us Strangers (2023)

Andrew Haigh’s drama All of Us Strangers has swept the 2023 British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs). The film picked up seven prizes, including best British independent film, best director and best screenplay. Paul Mescal was named best supporting actor for the film – a prize he shared with Shaun Thomas for How to Have Sex.

How to Have Sex actor Mia McKenna-Bruce won best lead performance. Molly Manning Walker’s teen holiday drama, which was funded through the BFI Filmmaking Fund using National Lottery money, also won best casting.

If the Streets Were on Fire, which was funded through the BFI Doc Society, won two awards: best feature documentary and the Raindance Maverick Award. Meanwhile, the Doc Society’s The Taste of Mango won best debut director (feature documentary) for filmmaker Chloe Abrahams.

Among the craft categories, which were previously announced, Mark Jenkin won best sound for Enys Men, a film released via BFI Distribution.

Justine Triet’s courtroom drama Anatomy of a Fall, which also won the Palme d’Or at Cannes this year, was named best international independent film. 

Best British independent film

Winner: All of Us Strangers – Andrew Haigh, Graham Broadbent, Pete Czernin, Sarah Harvey

Femme – Sam H Freeman, Ng Choon Ping, Myles Payne, Sam Ritzenberg

How to Have Sex – Molly Manning Walker, Ivana MacKinnon, Emily Leo, Konstantinos Kontovrakis

Rye Lane – Raine Allen-Miller, Nathan Bryon, Tom Melia, Yvonne Isimeme Ibazebo, Damian Jones

Scrapper – Charlotte Regan, Theo Barrowclough

Best international independent film

Winner: Anatomy of a Fall – Justine Triet, Arthur Harari, Marie-Ange Luciani, David Thion

Fallen Leaves – Aki Kauriskmäki

Fremont – Babak Jalali, Carolina Cavalli, Marjaneh Moghimi, Sudnya Shroff, Rachael Fung

Monster – Hirokazu Koreeda, Yuji Sakamoto, Genki Kawamura, Kenji Yamada

Past Lives – Celine Song, David Hinojosa, Christine Vachon, Pamela Koffler

Best director

Raine Allen-Miller – Rye Lane

Sam H Freeman, Ng Choon Ping – Femme

Winner: Andrew Haigh – All of Us Strangers

Molly Manning Walker – How to Have Sex

Charlotte Regan – Scrapper

Best screenplay

Nathan Bryon, Tom Melia – Rye Lane

Sam H Freeman, Ng Choon Ping – Femme

Winner: Andrew Haigh – All of Us Strangers

Molly Manning Walker – How to Have Sex

Charlotte Regan – Scrapper

Best lead performance

Jodie Comer – The End We Start From

Winner: Mia McKenna-Bruce – How to Have Sex

Tia Nomore – Earth Mama

Nabhaan Rizwan – In Camera

Andrew Scott – All of Us Strangers

Tilda Swinton – The Eternal Daughter

Best supporting performance

Ritu Aryu – Polite Society

Jamie Bell – All of Us Strangers

Samuel Bottomley – How to Have Sex

Alexandra Burke – Pretty Red Dress

Amir El-Masry – In Camera

Claire Foy – All of Us Strangers

Joint winner: Paul Mescal – All of Us Strangers

Alia Shawkat – Drift

Joint winner: Shaun Thomas – How to Have Sex

Katherine Waterson – The End We Start From

Best joint lead performance

Lola Campbell, Harris Dickinson – Scrapper

David Jonsson, Vivian Oparah – Rye Lane

Winner: Nathan Stewart-Jarrett, George MacKay – Femme

The Douglas Hickox Award (best debut director)

Raine Allen-Miller – Rye Lane

Sam H Freeman, Ng Choon Ping – Femme

Winner: Savanah Leaf – Earth Mama

Molly Manning Walker – How to Have Sex

Charlotte Regan – Scrapper

Breakthrough producer

Winner: Theo Barrowclough – Scrapper

Georgia Goggin – Pretty Red Dress

Yvonne Isimeme Ibazebo – Rye Lane

Gannesh Rajah – If The Streets Were on Fire

Chi Thai – Raging Grace

Breakthrough performance

Le’Shantey Bonsu – Girl

Lola Campbell – Scrapper

Priya Kansara – Polite Society

Mia McKenna-Bruce – How to Have Sex

Winner: Vivian Oparah – Rye Lane

Best debut screenwriter

Nathan Bryon, Tom Melia – Rye Lane

Sam H Freeman, Ng Choon Ping – Femme

Molly Manning Walker – How to Have Sex

Winner: Nida Manzoor – Polite Society

Charlotte Regan – Scrapper

Best debut director – feature documentary

Winner: Chloe Abrahams – The Taste of Mango

Sophie Compton, Reuben Hamlyn – Another Body

Ella Glendining – Is There Anybody out There?

Alice Russell – If The Streets Were on Fire

Christopher Sharp – Bobi Wine: The People’s President

The Raindance Maverick Award

Winner: If the Streets Were on Fire – Alice Russell, Gannesh Rajah

Is There Anybody out There? – Ella Glendining, Janine Marmot

Name Me Lawand – Edward Lovelace

Raging Grace – Paris Zarcilla, Chi Thai

Red Herring – Kit Vincent, Ed Owles

Best feature documentary

Another Body – Sophie Compton, Reuben Hamlyn, Isabel Freeman, Elizabeth Woodward

Bobi Wine: The People’s President – Moses Bwayo, Christopher Sharp, John Battsek

Winner: If the Streets Were on Fire – Alice Russell, Gannesh Rajah

Lyra – Alison Millar, Jackie Doyle

Occupied City – Steve McQueen, Bianca Stigter, Floor Onrust, Anna Smith Tenser

Best British short film

Christopher at Sea – Tom C J Brown, Laure Desmazières, Emmanuel-Alain Raynal, Pierre Baussaron, Amanda Miller, Hannah Stolarski, Nick Read, Emily-Jane Brown

Winner: Festival of Slaps – Abdou Cissé, Cheri Darbon, George Telfer

Lions – Beru Tessema, Ama Ampadu

Muna – Warda Mohamed, Angela Moneke, Simon Hatton

The Talent – Thomas May Bailey, Emma D’arcy, Ellen Spence

Best casting

Shaheen Baig – Scrapper

Kharmel Cochrane – Rye Lane

Kahleen Crawford – All of Us Strangers

Winner: Isabella Odoffin – How to Have Sex

Salome Oggenfuss, Geraldine Barón, Abby Harri – Earth Mama

Best cinematography

Olan Collardy – Rye Lane

Suzie Lavelle – The End We Start From

Molly Manning Walker – Scrapper

Winner: Jamie D. Ramsay – All of Us Strangers

James Rhodes – Femme

Best costume design

George Buxton – How to Have Sex

Oliver Cronk – Scrapper

Winner: Buki Ebiesuwa – Femme

Cynthia Lawrence-John – Rye Lane

PC Williams – The End We Start From

Best editing

Winner: Jonathan Alberts – All of Us Strangers

Victoria Boydell – Rye Lane

Paul Carlin – Bobi Wine: The People’s President

Avdhesh Mohla – High & Low: John Galliano

Arttu Salmi – The End We Start From

Best effects

Paddy Eason – Polite Society

Theodor Flo-Groeneboom – The End We Start From

Winner: Jonathan Gales, Richard Baker – The Kitchen

Best music supervision

Ciara Elwis – Femme

Winner: Connie Farr – All of Us Strangers

David Fish – Rye Lane

Best makeup and hair design

Zoe Clare Brown – All of Us Strangers

Claire Carter – Polite Society

Winner: Marie Deehan – Femme

Natasha Lawes – How to Have Sex

Bianca Simone Scott – Rye Lane

Best original music

Adam Janota Bzowski – Femme

Patrick Jonsson – Scrapper

Winner: Kwes – Rye Lane

Anna Meredith – The End We Start From

Ré Olunuga – Girl

Best production design

Laura Ellis Cricks – The End We Start From

Sarah Finlay – All of Us Strangers

Elena Muntoni – Scrapper

Winner: Nathan Parker – The Kitchen

Anna Rhodes – Rye Lane

Best sound

Ben Baird, Jack Wensley, Adam Fletcher, Alexej Mungersdorff – Scrapper

Steve Fanagan – How to Have Sex

Stevie Haywood, Joakim Sundström, Per Bostrom – All of Us Strangers

Winner: Mark Jenkin – Enys Men

Jens Rosenlund-Petersen, Amy Felton, Joe Jackson, Tim Cavagin, Lori Dovi – The End We Start From

BFI Player logo

Stream hand-picked cinema

A free trial, then £4.99/month or £49/year.

Get 14 days free