Night Will Fall among documentary winners at the Peabody Awards

America’s Peabody Awards have now announced this year’s winners in the documentary category.

Night Will Fall (2014)

The final group of winners of this year’s Peabody Awards have been announced by the University of Georgia. Nine television documentaries have been added to the 21 titles already announced to complete the roster of 30 winners. The Peabodys are the oldest broadcasting awards in the world – now celebrating their 75th year – and are regarded as the most prestigious in the USA.

Among the documentary winners is André Singer’s Night Will Fall, the story of a film about the liberation of the Nazi concentration camps made just after the end of the Second World War but then shelved and unseen until its recent restoration. Backed by the BFI Film Fund, Night Will Fall is available online on BFI Player and on DVD.

Further British interest among the winners is provided by Leslee Udwin, whose devastating film India’s Daughter, about the notorious Delhi rape and murder case, was transmitted here in the BBC’s Storyville strand.

Other notable documentary winners include Andrew Jarecki’s The Jinx: the Life and Deaths of Robert Durst (HBO), Alex Gibney’s Going Clear: Scientology and the Prison of Belief (HBO/Sky Atlantic) and Listen to Me Marlon (Showtime), which uses tape recordings made by Marlon Brando to illustrate the story of his life and career.

BFI Player logo

Discover exceptional cinema

See something different on demand.

Start your free trial