Nominations announced for the British Independent Film Awards 2022

Charlotte Wells’ film Aftersun leads the pack after the announcement of this year’s BIFA nominations, with 16 nominations.

Aftersun (2022)

The starting gun has been sounded for this year’s award season with the announcement of the nominations for the British Independent Film Awards (BIFAs). Aftersun, the debut feature by Charlotte Wells, has emerged as the frontrunner, with a tally of 16 nominations. The BFI Film Fund-backed drama is in contention for awards including best British independent film, best director, best screenplay and best joint lead performance for Frankie Corio and Paul Mescal.

Another BFI-backed National Lottery funded film, Georgia Oakley’s Blue Jean takes second place on the docket, with 13 nominations, including best British independent film, director, screenplay, best lead performance for Rosy McEwen, best ensemble performance and two nods in the best supporting performance category for Lucy Halliday and Kerrie Hayes.

Other BFI films picking up nominations include Brian and Charles, The Feast, Medusa Deluxe, The Origin, The Phantom of the Open, Nezouh and the short animation Scale.

A total of 36 British features have been nominated.

The winners will be announced on 4 December.

Best British independent film

Aftersun – Charlotte Wells, Barry Jenkins, Mark Ceryak, Adele Romanski, Amy Jackson
Blue Jean – Georgia Oakley, Hélène Sifre
Good Luck to You, Leo Grande – Sophie Hyde, Katy Brand, Debbie Gray, Adrian Politowski
Living – Oliver Hermanus, Kazuo Ishiguro, Stephen Woolley, Elizabeth Karlsen
The Wonder – Sebastián Lelio, Emma Donoghue, Alice Birch, Juliette Howell, Andrew Lowe, Tessa Ross, Ed Guiney

Best director

Oliver Hermanus – Living
Sophie Hyde – Good Luck to You, Leo Grande
Sebastián Lelio – The Wonder
Georgia Oakley – Blue Jean
Charlotte Wells – Aftersun

Best screenplay

Katy Brand – Good Luck to You, Leo Grande
Kazuo Ishiguro – Living
Sebastián Lelio, Alice Birch, Emma Donoghue – The Wonder
Georgia Oakley – Blue Jean
Charlotte Wells – Aftersun

Best lead performance

Sally Hawkins – The Lost King
Cosmo Jarvis – It Is In Us All
Emma Mackey – Emily
Rosy McEwen – Blue Jean
Bill Nighy – Living
Florence Pugh – The Wonder
Emily Watson – God’s Creatures
Hala Zein – Nezouh

Best supporting performance

Zoey Deutch – The Outfit
Aisling Franciosi – God’s Creatures
Lucy Halliday – Blue Jean
Kerrie Hayes – Blue Jean
Zainab Joda – Our River… Our Sky
Fatma Mohamed – Flux Gourmet
Paul Mescal – God’s Creatures
Fionn Whitehead – Emily
Aimee Lou Wood – Living

Best joint lead performance

Frankie Corio, Paul Mescal – Aftersun
Daryl McCormack, Emma Thompson – Good Luck to You, Leo Grande
Jessie Buckley, Rory Kinnear – Men
Tamara Lawrance, Letitia Wright – The Silent Twins

Best ensemble performance

Blue Jean ensemble including Rosy McEwen, Kerrie Hayes, Lucy Halliday, Lydia Page, Stacy Abalogun, Farrah Cave, Amy Booth-Steel
Emily ensemble including Amelia Gething, Emma Mackey, Oliver Jackson-Cohen, Fionn Whitehead, Alexandra Dowling, Gemma Jones, Adrian Dunbar
Flux Gourmet ensemble including Makis Papadimitriou, Gwendoline Christie, Asa Butterfield, Fatma Mohamed, Ariane Labed, Richard Bremmer
Our River… Our Sky ensemble including Zainab Joda, Darina Al Joundi, Amed Hashimi, Mahmoud Abo Al Abbas, Basim Hajar, Labwa Arab, Meriam Abbas, Siham Mustafa
The Wonder ensemble including Kíla Lord Cassidy, Florence Pugh, Tom Burke, Toby Jones, Niamh Algar, Elaine Cassidy, Ciarán Hinds, Brían F. O’Byrne, Josie Walker

The Douglas Hickox Award (Best debut director)

Andrew Cumming – The Origin
Thomas Hardiman – Medusa Deluxe
Frances O’Connor – Emily
Georgia Oakley – Blue Jean
Charlotte Wells – Aftersun

Breakthrough producer

Aleksandra Bilić, Jennifer Corcoran – Nascondino [Hide & Seek]
Paul Kennedy – Nightride [also produced by Jon Silk]
Rupert Majendie – Brian and Charles
Nadira Murray – Winners [also produced by Paul Welsh]
Hélène Sifre – Blue Jean

Breakthrough performance

Frankie Corio – Aftersun
Leo Long – I Used to Be Famous
Kíla Lord Cassidy – The Wonder
Rosy Mcewen – Blue Jean
Safia Oakley-Green – The Origin

Best debut screenwriter

Shane Crowley – God’s Creatures
David Earl, Chris Hayward – Brian and Charles
Ruth Greenberg – The Origin
Georgia Oakley – Blue Jean
Charlotte Wells – Aftersun

Best debut director – feature documentary

Kathryn Ferguson – Nothing Compares
Victoria Fiore – Nascondino [Hide & Seek]
Leah Gordon, Eddie Hutton Mills – Kanaval
Jono McLeod – My Old School
Becky Hutner – Fashion Reimagined

The Raindance Discovery Award

Electric Malady – Marie Lidén, Aimara Reques
Fadia’s Tree – Sarah Beddington, Susan Simnett
Off the Rails – Peter Day, Grant Keir, Rob Alexander
Rebellion – Elena Sánchez Bellot, Maia Kenworthy, Kat Mansoor
Winners – Hassan Nazer, Nadira Murray, Paul Welsh

Best feature documentary

My Childhood, My Country – 20 Years in Afghanistan Phil Grabsky, Shoaib Sharifi, Amanda Wilkie
My Old School – Jono McLeod, John Archer, Olivia Lichtenstein
Nascondino [Hide & Seek] – Victoria Fiore, Jennifer Corcoran, Aleksandra Bilić
Nothing Compares – Kathryn Ferguson, Eleanor Emptage, Michael Mallie
Young Plato – Neasa Ní Chianáin, Declan McGrath, David Rane

Best British short film – supported by BFI NETWORK

A Fox in the Night – Keeran Anwar Blessie, Benjamin Jacob Smith
Honesty – Roxy Rezvany, Emily Renée, Elly Camisa
Sandstorm – Seemab Gul, Abid Aziz Merchant
Scale – Joseph Pierce, Hélène Mitjavile
Too Rough – Sean Lìonadh, Ross McKenzie, Alfredo Covelli

Best international independent film

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed – Laura Poitras, Howard Gertler, John Lyons, Nan Goldin, Yoni Golijov,
Close – Lukas Dhont, Angelo Tijssens, Michiel Dhont, Dirk Impens
Decision to Leave – Park Chan-wook, Chung Seo-Kyung
Everything Everywhere All at Once – Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert, Jonathan Wang, Joe Russo, Anthony Russo, Mike Larocca
The Worst Person in the World – Joachim Trier, Eskil Vogt, Andrea Berentsen Ottmar, Thomas Robsahm

Best casting

Shaheen Baig – Blue Jean
Leila Bertrand – Our River… Our Sky
Kharmel Cochrane – The Silent Twins
Kahleen Crawford – Living
Lucy Pardee – Aftersun

Best cinematography

Nascondino [Hide & Seek] – Alfredo De Juan
Rob Hardy – Men
Joel Honeywell – Kanaval
Gregory Oke – Aftersun
Ari Wegner – The Wonder

Best costume design

Jenny Beavan – Mrs Harris Goes to Paris
Saffron Cullane – Flux Gourmet
Odile Dicks-Mireaux – The Wonder
Frank Gallacher – Aftersun
Sandy Powell – Living

Best editing

Joanna Crickmay – Elizabeth: A Portrait In Parts
Izabella Curry – Blue Jean
Mátyás Fekete – Flux Gourmet
Mick Mahon – Nothing Compares
Blair McClendon – Aftersun

Best original music

Danny Bensi, Saunder Jurriaans – God’s Creatures
Oliver Coates – Aftersun
Matthew Herbert – The Wonder
Adam Janota Bzowski – The Origin
Ben Salisbury, Geoff Barrow – Men

Best makeup and hair design

Oya Aygör, Murat Çağin – Aftersun
Morna Ferguson, Lorri Ann King – The Wonder
Siobhan Harper-Ryan – Flux Gourmet
Niamh Morrison – The Origin
Eugene Souleiman, Scarlett O’Connell – Medusa Deluxe

Best effects

Chris Marshall – The Feast
David Simpson – Men
Ahmed Yousry – Nezouh

Best music supervision

Lucy Bright – Aftersun
Phil Canning – The Phantom of the Open
Rupert Hollier – Living

Best sound

Tim Harrison, Raoul Brand, Cassandra Rutledge – Flux Gourmet
Glenn Freemantle, Ben Barker, Gillian Dodders, Howard Bargoff, Mitch Low – Men
Jovan Ajder – Aftersun
Hugh Fox, Ben Baird – The Wonder
Dom Corbisiero, Dai Shell – The Feast

Best production design

Fletcher Jarvis – Flux Gourmet
Grant Montgomery – The Wonder
Helen Scott – Living
Billur Turan – Aftersun
Gary Williamson – Medusa Deluxe

The Richard Harris Award for outstanding contribution by an actor to British film

To be announced

BFI Player logo

All-you-can-watch access to 100s of films

A free trial, then just £4.99/month or £49/year.

Get free trial