Oscars 2018: the winners in full

The Shape of Water wins best picture and best director for Guillermo del Toro.

5 March 2018

The Shape of Water (2017)

Guillermo del Toro’s fantasy romance The Shape of Water has won best picture, with del Toro also named best director after a close night at the Academy Awards. Del Toro’s film, which first screened to UK audiences at the BFI London Film Festival, also won for its production design and score.

Martin McDonagh’s drama Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, which was closing night gala of the 61st LFF, won a brace of acting awards, with Frances McDormand getting best actress and Sam Rockwell named best supporting actor.

As expected, Gary Oldman won best actor for his turn as Winston Churchill in Darkest Hour. The film also won best makeup and hair, repeating its BAFTA double.

Rounding out the acting prizes was a win for Allison Janney in the figure-skating drama I, Tonya.

Christopher Nolan’s wartime epic Dunkirk won three technical awards, for its editing, sound editing and sound mixing.

Following 13 unsuccessful prior nominations, British director of photography Roger Deakins finally triumphed with a win for best cinematography for Blade Runner 2049, which also won for its visual effects. Another double winner was Pixar’s Coco, which took best animated film and best song (‘Remember Me’).

The Chilean film A Fantastic Woman, another LFF premiere, was named best foreign language film, while LFF gala title Call Me by Your Name won the award for best adapted screenplay for James Ivory. The Oscar for original screenplay went to Jordan Peele for Get Out.

Both A Fantastic Woman and Call Me Your Name screen at BFI Flare: London LGBTQ+ Film Festival later this month.

Best picture

Winner: The Shape of Water

Call Me by Your Name
Darkest Hour
Get Out
Lady Bird
Phantom Thread
The Post
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Lead actor

Winner: Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour

Timothée Chalamet, Call Me by Your Name
Daniel Day-Lewis, Phantom Thread
Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out
Denzel Washington, Roman J. Israel, Esq.

Lead actress

Winner: Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water
Margot Robbie, I, Tonya
Saoirse Ronan, Lady Bird
Meryl Streep, The Post

Supporting actor

Winner: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
Woody Harrelson, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Richard Jenkins, The Shape of Water
Christopher Plummer, All the Money in the World

Supporting actress

Winner: Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Mary J. Blige, Mudbound
Lesley Manville, Phantom Thread
Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
Octavia Spencer, The Shape of Water


Winner: The Shape of Water, Guillermo del Toro

Dunkirk, Christopher Nolan
Get Out, Jordan Peele
Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig
Phantom Thread, Paul Thomas Anderson

Animated feature

Winner: Coco, Lee Unkrich, Darla K. Anderson

The Boss Baby, Tom McGrath, Ramsey Ann Naito
The Breadwinner, Nora Twomey, Anthony Leo
Ferdinand, Carlos Saldanha
Loving Vincent, Dorota Kobiela, Hugh Welchman, Sean Bobbitt, Ivan Mactaggart, Hugh Welchman

Animated short

Winner: Dear Basketball, Glen Keane, Kobe Bryant

Garden Party, Victor Caire, Gabriel Grapperon
Lou, Dave Mullins, Dana Murray
Negative Space, Max Porter, Ru Kuwahata
Revolting Rhymes, Jakob Schuh, Jan Lachauer

Adapted screenplay

Winner: Call Me by Your Name, James Ivory

The Disaster Artist, Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber
Logan, Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green
Molly’s Game, Aaron Sorkin
Mudbound, Virgil Williams and Dee Rees

Original screenplay

Winner: Get Out, Jordan Peele

The Big Sick, Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani
Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig
The Shape of Water, Guillermo del Toro, Vanessa Taylor
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Martin McDonagh


Winner: Blade Runner 2049, Roger Deakins

Darkest Hour, Bruno Delbonnel
Dunkirk, Hoyte van Hoytema
Mudbound, Rachel Morrison
The Shape of Water, Dan Laustsen

Best documentary feature

Winner: Icarus, Bryan Fogel, Dan Cogan

Abacus Small Enough to Jail, Steve James, Mark Mitten, Julie Goldman
Faces Places, JR, Agnès Varda, Rosalie Varda
Last Men in Aleppo, Feras Fayyad, Kareem Abeed, Soren Steen Jepersen
Strong Island, Yance Ford, Joslyn Barnes

Best documentary short subject

Winner: Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405, Frank Stiefel

Edith+Eddie, Laura Checkoway, Thomas Lee Wright
Heroin(e), Elaine McMillion Sheldon, Kerrin Sheldon
Knife Skills, Thomas Lennon
Traffic Stop, Kate Davis, David Heilbroner

Best live action short film

Winner: The Silent Child, Chris Overton, Rachel Shenton

DeKalb Elementary, Reed Van Dyk
The Eleven O’Clock, Derin Seale, Josh Lawson
My Nephew Emmett, Kevin Wilson, Jr.
Watu Wote/All of Us, Katja Benrath, Tobias Rosen

Best foreign language film

Winner: A Fantastic Woman (Chile)

The Insult (Lebanon)
Loveless (Russia)
On Body and Soul (Hungary)
The Square (Sweden)

Film editing

Winner: Dunkirk, Lee Smith

Baby Driver, Jonathan Amos, Paul Machliss
I, Tonya, Tatiana S. Riegel
The Shape of Water, Sidney Wolinsky
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Jon Gregory

Sound editing

Winner: Dunkirk, Alex Gibson, Richard King

Baby Driver, Julian Slater
Blade Runner 2049, Mark Mangini, Theo Green
The Shape of Water, Nathan Robitaille, Nelson Ferreira
Star Wars The Last Jedi, Ren Klyce, Matthew Wood

Sound mixing

Winner: Dunkirk, Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo

Baby Driver, Mary H. Ellis, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin
Blade Runner 2049, Mac Ruth, Ron Bartlett, Doug Hemphill
The Shape of Water, Glen Gauthier, Christian Cooke, Brad Zoern
Star Wars The Last Jedi, Stuart Wilson, Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick

Production design

Winner: The Shape of Water, Paul D. Austerberry, Jeffrey A. Melvin, Shane Vieau

Beauty and the Beast, Sarah Greenwood; Katie Spencer
Blade Runner 2049, Dennis Gassner, Alessandra Querzola
Darkest Hour, Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
Dunkirk, Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis

Original score

Winner: The Shape of Water, Alexandre Desplat

Dunkirk, Hans Zimmer
Phantom Thread, Jonny Greenwood
Star Wars The Last Jedi, John Williams
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri, Carter Burwell

Original song

Winner: ‘Remember Me’ from Coco, Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez

‘Mighty River’ from Mudbound, Mary J. Blige
‘Mystery of Love’ from Call Me by Your Name, Sufjan Stevens
‘Stand Up for Something’ from Marshall, Diane Warren, Common
‘This Is Me’ from The Greatest Showman, Benj Pasek, Justin Paul

Makeup and hair

Winner: Darkest Hour, Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski, Lucy Sibbick

Victoria and Abdul, Daniel Phillips and Lou Sheppard
Wonder, Arjen Tuiten

Costume design

Winner: Phantom Thread, Mark Bridges

Beauty and the Beast, Jacqueline Durran
Darkest Hour, Jacqueline Durran
The Shape of Water, Luis Sequeira
Victoria and Abdul, Consolata Boyle

Visual effects

Winner: Blade Runner 2049, John Nelson, Paul Lambert, Richard R. Hoover, Gerd Nefzer

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2, Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Jonathan Fawkner, Dan Sudick
Kong: Skull Island, Stephen Rosenbaum, Jeff White, Scott Benza, Mike Meinardus
Star Wars: The Last Jedi,  Ben Morris, Mike Mulholland, Chris Corbould, Neal Scanlan
War for the Planet of the Apes, Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett, Joel Whist

BFI Player logo

Stream hand-picked cinema

A free trial, then £4.99/month or £49/year.

Get 14 days free

Other things to explore