Bong Joon Ho’s Parasite has made history by becoming the first non-English language film to win the Oscar for best picture. Bong, who is currently guest editor of Sight & Sound magazine, also won best director and best original screenplay, with his film also nabbing the best international film prize.

Renee Zellweger was named best actress for her turn as Judy Garland in Judy, with Joaquin Phoenix getting best actor for Joker. The supporting acting categories went to Laura Dern for Marriage Story and Brad Pitt for Once upon a Time in Hollywood.

Get the latest from the BFI

Sign up for BFI news, features, videos and podcasts.

Taika Waititi took away the prize for best adapted screenplay for Jojo Rabbit.

British cinematographer Roger Deakins won his second Oscar for best cinematography, for Sam Mendes’ war drama 1917.

The UK release of Parasite was supported by the BFI Audience Fund using funds from the National Lottery. Marriage Story, Jojo Rabbit and Ford v Ferrari all first screened to UK audiences at the BFI London Film Festival.

Best picture

Winner: Parasite
Ford v Ferrari
The Irishman
Jojo Rabbit
Little Women
Marriage Story
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Actor in a leading role

Winner: Joaquin Phoenix, Joker
Antonio Banderas, Pain and Glory
Leonardo DiCaprio, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Jonathan Pryce, The Two Popes

Actress in a leading role

Winner: Renee Zellweger, Judy
Cynthia, Erivo, Harriet
Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story
Saoirse Ronan, Little Women
Charlize Theron, Bombshell

Actor in a supporting role

Winner: Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Tom Hanks, A Beautiful Day in the Neighborhood
Anthony Hopkins, The Two Popes
Al Pacino, The Irishman
Joe Pesci, The Irishman

Actress in a supporting role

Winner: Laura Dern, Marriage Story
Kathy Bates, Richard Jewell
Scarlett Johansson, Jojo Rabbit
Florence Pugh, Little Women
Margot Robbie, Bombshell


Winner: Bong Joon-ho, Parasite
Martin Scorsese, The Irishman
Todd Phillips, Joker
Sam Mendes, 1917
Quentin Tarantino, Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Animated feature

Winner: Toy Story 4, Josh Cooley
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World, Dean DeBlois
I Lost My Body, Jeremy Clapin
Klaus, Sergio Pablos
Missing Link, Chris Butler

Animated short

Winner: Hair Love, Matthew A. Cherry
Dcera, Daria Kashcheeva
Kitbull, Rosana Sullivan
Memorable, Bruno Collet
Sister, Siqi Song

Adapted screenplay

Winner: Jojo Rabbit, Taika Waititi
The Irishman, Steven Zaillian
Joker, Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
Little Women, Greta Gerwig
The Two Popes, Anthony McCarten

Original screenplay

Winner: Parasite, Bong Joon-ho, Jin Won Han
Knives Out, Rian Johnson
Marriage Story, Noah Baumbach
1917, Sam Mendes and Krysty Wilson-Cairns
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Quentin Tarantino


Winner: 1917, Roger Deakins
The Irishman, Rodrigo Prieto
Joker, Lawrence Sher
The Lighthouse, Jarin Blaschke
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Robert Richardson

Documentary (feature)

Winner: American Factory, Julia Rieichert, Steven Bognar
The Cave, Feras Fayyad
The Edge of Democracy, Petra Costa
For Sama, Waad Al-Kateab, Edward Watts
Honeyland, Tamara Kotevska, Ljubo Stefanov

Documentary (short subject)

Winner: Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone, Carol Dysinger
In the Absence, Yi Seung-Jun and Gary Byung-Seok Kam
Life Overtakes Me, Kristine Samuelson and John Haptas
St. Louis Superman, Smriti Mundhra and Sami Khan
Walk Run Cha-Cha, Laura Nix

Short film (live action)

Winner: The Neighbors’ Window, Marshall Curry
Brotherhood, Meryam Joobeur
Nefta Football Club, Yves Piat
Saria, Bryan Buckley
A Sister, Delphine Girard

International feature film

Winner: Parasite, Bong Joon-ho
Corpus Christi, Jan Komasa
Honeyland, Tamara Kotevska, Ljubo Stefanov
Les Miserables, Ladj Ly
Pain and Glory, Pedro Almodóvar

Film editing

Winner: Ford v Ferrari, Michael McCusker, Andrew Buckland
The Irishman, Thelma Schoonmaker
Jojo Rabbit, Tom Eagles
Joker, Jeff Groth
Parasite, Jinmo Yang

Sound editing

Winner: Ford v Ferrari, Don Sylvester
Joker, Alan Robert Murray
1917, Oliver Tarney, Rachel Tate
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Wylie Stateman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, Matthew Wood, David Acord

Sound mixing

Winner: 1917
Ad Astra
Ford v Ferrari
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Production design

Winner: Once upon a Time in Hollywood, Barbara Ling and Nancy Haigh
The Irishman, Bob Shaw and Regina Graves
Jojo Rabbit, Ra Vincent and Nora Sopkova
1917, Dennis Gassner and Lee Sandales
Parasite, Lee Ha-Jun and Cho Won Woo, Han Ga Ram, and Cho Hee

Original score

Winner: Joker, Hildur Guðnadóttir
Little Women, Alexandre Desplat
Marriage Story, Randy Newman
1917, Thomas Newman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker, John Williams

Original song

Winner: ’I’m Gonna Love Me Again’, Rocketman
‘I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away’, Toy Story 4
‘I’m Standing with You’, Breakthrough
‘Into the Unknown’, Frozen 2
‘Stand Up’, Harriet

Makeup and hair

Winner: Bombshell
Maleficent: Mistress of Evil

Costume design

Winner: Little Women, Jacqueline Durran
The Irishman, Sandy Powell, Christopher Peterson
Jojo Rabbit, Mayes C. Rubeo
Joker, Mark Bridges
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood, Arianne Phillips

Visual effects

Winner: 1917
Avengers Endgame
The Irishman
The Lion King
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker