Marcos Uzal

Chief editor of Cahiers du cinéma

Voted for

Dishonored1931Josef von Sternberg
Vampyr1932Carl Th. Dreyer
Partie de campagne1936Jean Renoir
Young Mr. Lincoln1939John Ford
Bakushû1951Yasujirō Ozu
ADIEU PHILIPPINE1962Jacques Rozier
Muriel ou Le Temps d'un retour1963Alain Resnais
Au hasard Balthazar1966Robert Bresson
Roma1972Federico Fellini
La Maman et la Putain1973Jean Eustache


Chronological order.

Ten is far too few. I particularly regret the absence of some of the greatest inventors of forms of the 20th century: F.W. Murnau, Buster Keaton, Fritz Lang, Luis Buñuel, Kenji Mizoguchi, Alfred Hitchcock, Jean-Luc Godard…