The Early Films of Peter Greenaway Volume 1

Part one of the definitive collection of Peter Greenaway’s early works: six immensely playful films cataloguing the absurd.

The BFI presents the definitive collection of Peter Greenaway’s early works.

A Walk Through H / H is for House / Windows / Intervals / Dear Phone / Water Wrackets

The content of the six films on this volume varies widely – the potted history of 37 people who have fallen to their deaths from windows (Windows), a sequence of 92 maps to guide a dead ornithologist on his way into the afterlife (A Walk Through H) – but all the films are immensely playful and take pleasure in cataloguing the absurd. Composer Michael Nyman started his career with Peter Greenaway and contributes a thrilling score to A Walk Through H.

Special features

  • Filmed introductions by Peter Greenaway to each film.
  • Galleries of artworks - contains material from 1968-1978.
  • Archive notes for unmade projects.
  • Hidden features.

Product information

    • Certificate


    • Colour


    • Sound


    • Running time


    • Original aspect ratio


    • DVD region

      • 2 Europe (except Russia, Ukraine, and Belarus), Middle East, Egypt, Japan, South Africa, Swaziland, Lesotho, Greenland, French Overseas departments and territories

    • Catalogue number


BFI Shop

DVDs and Blu Ray

Back to the top

BFI Player logo

BFI Player logo

See something different

Subscribe now for exclusive offers and the best of cinema.