BFI Fellowship Award: Bryan Forbes

The BFI bestows its highest honour, the Fellowship, on Bryan Forbes, the director, actor and screenwriter responsible for enduring works such as Whistle Down the Wind (1961), The L-Shaped Room (1962) and Séance on a Wet Afternoon (1964).

Following a tribute from BFI Chairman Greg Dyke, the filmmaker's daughters Emma Forbes and Sarah Standing collect the award on behalf of their father. Sadly Bryan Forbes was unable to accept the award in person owing to ill health - the video ends with a clip from his acceptance speech, filmed at his home in an exclusive interview.


Elsewhere on BFI Live



  • Do the Right Thing
  • L'Atalante
  • Psycho
  • Separation